The Library aspires to be a partner with you to achieve success for Monmouth University students. We strive to make our resources reflective of your needs and the university curriculum. We hope that you will take advantage of our resources and encourage your students to do the same. Please check out our offerings at library.monmouth.edu and don't hesitate to contact us for assistance, and especially to arrange for library orientations, tutorials, specific database instruction, or anything else you need.
HawkFind is our name for a tool we license from Proquest. Called "Summon", it searches across all of our databases, subscribed content, and library catalog in order to raise the chance that a useful result will occur. It is both a tool we recommend for an initial search, and also one that we suggest for performing interdisciplinary searches. For example, a search in HawkFind for "islamic tradition" returns results from anthropology (441), education (445), biology (98), economics (747), political science (1,237), and so forth. HawkFind is a good place to start, as it can also retrieve books and films from our physical collection, ebooks, and other items.
We recommend searching HawkFind as an initial step. Our more subject-specific databases contain search tools, indexes, filters, and other refinements that allow a much more specific search, depending on the subject field. For a review of some major databases, please click "The Major Databases" tab, above. A common question that we receive "which database do I use?" indicates that this qustion is widespread. Having our own version of Google, for academic databases, helps keep searching within the domain of relevant research sources.
Search HawkFind from the library web page at https://library.monmouth.edu