LibGuides: CJ 315: Research Methods: New Jersey Government

Locating NJ Court Cases

Westlaw Database
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw provides access to NJ State and Federal cases, NJ Statutes, Court Rules, US Code Annotated, Regulations, Briefs, and Legislations.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar offers free access to published opinions of U.S. state, appellate, and supreme court cases since 1950; U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923; and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791.
Municipal Court Case Search (MCCS)
NJ Courts Search Page
This is a full-text archive of the Opinions of the New Jersey Courts, including the Supreme Court, from March, 1994 to date, the Superior Court Appellate Division and the Tax Court from September, 1995 to date.
The PROMIS/GAVEL System
The Promis/Gavel system is an automated criminal case tracking system. It captures information concerning defendants who have been charged with criminal offenses. It tracks the processing of those defendants from initial arrest through appellate review.
U.S. District Court
Resources that can be used to obtain and review information on cases in the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey.

NJ State Publications Library

New Jersey State Library Digital Collections includes electronic New Jersey State government publications along with digital books, photographs and postcards about New Jersey but not published by state government (Jerseyana). This database is designed to address the long-term preservation and access requirements of electronic government publications and other digital material.

NJ Government Departments A to Z

NJ State Archives Database

Searchable Databases and Records Request Forms
The searchable databases listed above provide access to over 1,000,000 database entries, indexing over 500,000 documents and photographs housed at the New Jersey State Archives. Database development is currently focused on 1848-1878 death records, early land records, and the records of the Supreme Court.

CJ 315: Research Methods

Locating NJ Services

Locating NJ Court Cases

NJ State Publications Library

NJ Government Departments A to Z

Agriculture

Attorney General's Office, Law & Public Safety

Banking and Insurance

Children & Families

Community Affairs

Corrections

Education

Environmental Protection

Health

Human Services

Labor & Workforce Development

Military & Veterans Affairs

State

Transportation

Treasury

NJ State Archives Database