LibGuides: CJ 315: Research Methods: Marginalized Populations

Who are the people in our community who may be “marginalized” (definitions include underserved, disregarded, ostracized, harassed, persecuted, sidelined)? Consider this list as a start in identifying possible marginalized groups in the community:

Immigrants, Refugees, and Migrants
Women and Girls
Victims of Human Trafficking
Mentally Ill
Children and Youth
People of Differing Sexual Orientation (LGBT community)
People of Differing Religions
Developmentally Delayed, Physically Disabled, or Mentally Ill People
Incarcerated People (and their Families)
People Released from Incarceration
People of Low Socioeconomic Status
Unemployed People
People of a Particular Ethnicity/Country of Origin
People with a Differing Political Orientation

-Source: Charter for Compassion Organization

Note: This page is a work in progress, and by no means are these resources exhaustive.

Featured Resources

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, full text collection of news articles from publications of the minority, ethnic, and native press. The database is searchable in both English and Spanish, covering 240 periodical titles in both languages.

Open Society Justice Initiative (HeinOnline)
The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Beyond their publications, the Justice Initiative represents individuals before domestic and international human rights tribunals. Their advocacy work targets national and regional policymakers and governments to advance human rights and the rule of law, and they support local, national, and international efforts to expand access to justice.
Mental Health Disparities: Diverse Populations
Racial/ethnic, gender, and sexual minorities often suffer from poor mental health outcomes due to multiple factors including inaccessibility of high quality mental health care services, cultural stigma surrounding mental health care, discrimination, and overall lack of awareness about mental health. The link above offers factsheets, which provide a snapshot of the current state of mental health of minority populations and some factors that may contribute to mental health disparities among these groups.
Office of Behavioral Health Equity
OBHE’s efforts are focused on the promotion of behavioral health equity for underserved racial and ethnic minority, as well as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) populations.
NJ Division of Civil Rights
Offers facts sheets and trainings on marginalized groups.
Southern Poverty Law Center
Provides guides on topics such as criminal justice reform, voting rights, LGBTQ rights, and immigrant justice. Also includes an interactive map of hate groups in the U.S.
Suicide Prevention Resource Center
Offers toolkits, research reports, guidelines, and factsheets.
Project ID
Helps people get the photo-issued IDs that they need for homes, jobs, food, medical care, and so much more.

Communities of Color

HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Thousands of African American interviews from a broad range of backgrounds and experiences. This resource provides high-quality video content, fully searchable transcripts, and unique content from individuals whose life stories would have been lost were it not for the HistoryMakers.

> Features videotaped first person testimony of both well-known and unsung African Americans recorded in 180 cities and towns across the United States
> Over 9,000 hours (2,800 interviews) of unique content, the interviews in The HistoryMakers Digital Archive range from 90 minutes to 15 hours in length, and are housed permanently at the Library of Congress
> Fifteen distinct categories: Art, Business, Civics, Education, Entertainment, Law, Media, Medicine, Military, Music, Politics, Religion, STEM, Sports, and Style (Fashion & Beauty)

BIPOC Mental Health
Mental Health America (MHA)'s work is driven by its commitment to promote mental health as a critical part of overall wellness, including prevention services for all; early identification and intervention for those at risk; integrated care, services, and supports for those who need them; with recovery as the goal.
The Black Community Watchline
The Black Community Watchline is committed to seeing that incidences of violence, harassment, intimidation are not overlooked, dismissed or mishandled by public servants, persons of influence, and individuals in positions of power.
Black Voters Matter
Black Voters Matter goal is to increase power in marginalized, predominantly Black communities.
Capital
"Capital B is a local-national nonprofit news organization that centers Black voices, audience needs and experiences, and partners with the communities we serve.
Our national team produces in-depth journalism on topics of crucial importance to Black people across the country, such as, politics, health, criminal justice, the environment, and rural issues."
The Center for Racial Justice in Education
The Center for Racial Justice in Education mission is to train and empower educators to dismantle patterns of racism and injustice in our schools and communities.
Coalition of Communities of Color
The Coalition of Communities of Color's mission is to address the socioeconomic disparities, institutional racism, and inequity of services experienced by our families, children and communities; and to organize our communities for collective action resulting in social change to obtain self-determination, wellness, justice and prosperity.
Doing Evaluation in Service of Racial Equity
Doing Evaluation in Service of Racial Equity, a transformational series of guides, commissioned by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and written by Community Science, that shares how-to knowledge for advancing racial equity through evaluation.
NAACP
Learn more about the issues NAACP tackles every day to dismantle racism and build Black political, social, and economic power.
National Association of Community & Restorative Justice
Advances community and restorative justice as a social movement by serving people and organizations committed to building community and addressing harm. NACRJ provides guidance and support to establish high quality practices with fidelity to restorative principles.
Paradoxical Paradise
An African American Oral History and Mapping Project on Asbury Park, NJ.
Philanthropic Initiative for Racial Equity (PRE)
The goal of the Philanthropic Initiative for Racial Equity (PRE) is to increase the amount and effectiveness of resources aimed at combating institutional and structural racism in communities through capacity building, education, and convening of grantmakers and grantseekers.
Race Forward
In 2017, Race Forward united with the Center for Social Inclusion. Founded in 1981, Race Forward brings systemic analysis and an innovative approach to complex race issues to help people take effective action toward racial equity.
Racial Disparities Dashboard
From The Othering & Belonging Institute, provides comparative data on racial groups in critical life outcomes such as poverty rates, life expectancy, median racial wealth gap, and more.
Racial Equity Tools
Racial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. It offers tools, research, tips, curricula, and ideas for people who want to increase their understanding and to help those working for racial justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities, and the culture at large.
Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation
Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation (TRHT) is a comprehensive, national and community-based process to bring about transformational and sustainable change.

Human Trafficking

Bureau of Justice Statistics
This report describes BJS's most recent data on human trafficking. It details ongoing and completed efforts to measure and analyze the nationwide incidence of human trafficking, to describe characteristics of human trafficking victims and offenders, and to describe criminal justice responses to human trafficking offenses.
CAST - Coalition to Abolish Slavery & Trafficking
CAST's client services programs offer support all along the continuum of a human trafficking survivor’s journey, including: emergency response, counseling and skills training, shelter, legal advocacy and survivor leadership.
FBI - Human Trafficking Reporting
Offers information on past and ongoing investigations made by FBI Task Forces. Provides information and resources for victims as well.
National Human Trafficking Hotline
The National Human Trafficking Hotline maintains one of the most extensive data sets on the issue of human trafficking in the United States. The statistics contained on this website are based on aggregated information learned through signals -- phone calls, texts, online chats, emails, and online tip reports -- received by the Trafficking Hotline.
NJ Department of Education
Provides information and guidance local to New Jersey cases of human trafficking.
Polaris Project
Provides data and resources on sex and labor trafficking. This site also includes a page on "Human Trafficking Myths."
Still Waters Anti-Trafficking Program
Still Waters works to protect the rights and address the needs of foreign national survivors of human trafficking who reside in New Jersey.
Stop the Traffik
This organization provides information for local communities such as the "Self-Assessment Scorecard for Local Authorities."
U.S. Department of State
Offers definitions of terms and links to United States resources and information on human trafficking.
UNODC Global Report on Trafficking in Persons
Based on data gathered from 155 countries, it offers the first global assessment of the scope of human trafficking and what is being done to fight it. It includes: an overview of trafficking patterns; legal steps taken in response; and country-specific information on reported cases of trafficking in persons, victims, and prosecutions.

Immigrants

Accompany Now!
Provides home studies and post-release services to unaccompanied minors – that is, children who have crossed the US border without a parent or guardian, or who have become separated from that parent/guardian.
DIRE - Deportation & Immigration Response Equipo
DIRE’s Navigators (Guias) assist individual families facing immigration and/or detention crises by pairing community volunteers who can listen and advocate based on individual situations/needs. Navigators are trained and supported by DIRE staff. DIRE Legal provides low cost immigration legal services to low-income immigrants and their families
Freedom for Immigrants
Freedom for Immigrants is devoted to abolishing immigration detention.
The Immigrant Learning Center
The Institute creates, collects, curates and shares information on immigrants and immigration in the United States. From immigration data to grassroots best practices to individual storytelling, our constant search for the latest and best makes it easier for policy makers, educators and everyday Americans to understand the issues.
Immigrants Rising
Works to empower undocumented people to achieve their educational and career goals through personal, institutional and policy transformation.
Immigration History Research Center
View hundreds of immigrant stories in the oral histories collection from the University of Minnesota.
RAICES
With Texas roots and national reach, RAICES models a welcoming nation by fighting for the freedoms of immigrant, refugee, and asylum-seeking families.

Indigenous

First Peoples Child & Family Review
- This link opens in a new window
The First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honouring the voices and perspectives of First peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters.

Walking in Two Worlds: Supporting the Two Spirit and Native LGBTQ Community
The term Two-Spirit is a direct translation o f the Ojibwe term,Niizh manidoowag. “Two-Spirited” or “Two-Spirit” is usually used to indicate a person whose body simultaneously houses a masculine
spirit and a feminine spirit.
Presidential Task Force on Missing and Murdered American Indians and Alaskan Natives: Operation Lady Justice
Report To The President: Activities and Accomplishments of the First Year of Operation Lady Justice. November 25, 2020

Alaska Federation of Natives (AFN)
AFN’s mission is to enhance and promote the cultural, economic and political voice of the entire Alaska Native community.
American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research Journal
"American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research is a professionally refereed scientific journal. It contains empirical research, program evaluations, case studies, unpublished dissertations, and other articles in the behavioral, social, and health sciences which clearly relate to the mental health status of American Indians and Alaska Natives."
CSWE Indigenous and Tribal Content
"The Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) is committed to achieving social justice and equity for Indigenous Peoples in ways that respect their ancient cultures and sovereign rights and that address a legacy of colonization and oppression. "
Indian Health Service
The Indian Health Service, an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Indian Law Resource Center
The Center provides legal assistance to indigenous peoples of the Americas to combat racism and oppression, to protect their lands and environment, to protect their cultures and ways of life, to achieve sustainable economic development and genuine self-government, and to realize their other human rights.
Journal of American Indian Education
"Founded in 1961, the Journal of American Indian Education (JAIE) is a refereed journal featuring original scholarship on education issues of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous peoples worldwide, including First Nations, Māori, Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander peoples, and Indigenous peoples of Latin America, Scandinavia, Africa, and others."
Journal of Ethnic & Cultural Diversity in Social Work
The journal helps readers develop knowledge and promote understanding of the impact of culture, race, ethnicity, and class on the individual, group, organization, and community on the delivery of human services.
more...less...
This journal has full text availability for journals labeled “Open Access.” All other titles can be requested via Interlibrary loan. When searching on this journal, use the Access Type filter “Only show content I have full access to” or look for the Open Access icon in the results page.
Missing and Murdered Indigenous People Crisis
Tribal Star Resources
Tribal STAR is a training and technical assistance program that focuses on building collaborations that improve outcomes for Native American children in the juvenile dependency system.
You Are Not Alone: YANAN
YANAN is dedicated to helping stem the tide of Native American teen suicides.

Justice Equity & Incarcerated Persons

American Prison Newspapers, 1800s-present: Voices from the Inside
On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope was published within a prison in New York state, edited by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200+ years, over 700 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons in all fifty states. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women-only institutions.
American Prison Writing Archive
The mission of the American Prison Writing Archive (APWA) is to replace misrepresentation of prisons and imprisoned people with first-person witness by those living in legalized confinement.
The Bail Project
Provides advocacy on the justice system and offers bail assistance to those in need.
Brennan Center for Justice
The Brennan Center for Justice is an independent, nonpartisan law and policy organization that works to reform, revitalize, and when necessary, defend our country’s systems of democracy and justice.
Compassion Prison Program
CPP creates trauma-informed prisons and communities, through trauma-awareness education and programming. The site includes access to documentaries and podcasts.
FreeWriters
An organization based in Minnesota that provides incarcerated persons with creative writing opportunities as a therapeutic healing exchange.
Haywood Burns Institute
Always challenging racial hierarchy and the social control of communities of color by the justice sector and other public systems, BI employs strategies and tactics to establish a community centered approach of justice administration that is anchored in structural well-being.
Innocence Project
The Innocence Project works to free the innocent, prevent wrongful convictions, and create fair, compassionate, and equitable systems of justice for everyone.
The Inside-Out Prison Exchange Program
The Inside-Out Prison Exchange Program® facilitates dialogue and education across profound social differences — through courses held inside prison, involving students from a higher education setting and incarcerated students.
The Marshall Project
Nonprofit journalism about the criminal justice system and inequity in the U.S.
The National Institute for Criminal Justice Reform (NICJR)
The National Institute for Criminal Justice Reform (NICJR) works to reduce incarceration and violence, improve the outcomes of system-involved youth and adults, and increase the capacity and expertise of the organizations that serve these individuals. NICJR provides technical assistance, consulting, research, organizational development, and advocacy in the fields of juvenile and criminal justice, youth development, and violence prevention.
NeighborCorps Re-Entry Services
NeighborCorps Re-Entry Services is a community-based program that helps people transition successfully from Middlesex County Jail back to their families and lives.
New Jersey Prison Justice Watch
"A coalition of survivors, families, faith based communities and advocates calling for an end to torture in New Jersey correctional facilities."
PEN America Prison and Justice Writing
"For more than five decades, PEN America’s Prison and Justice Writing program has amplified the work of thousands of writers who are creating while incarcerated in the United States. By providing resources, mentorship, and audiences outside the walls, we help these writers to join and enrich the broader literary community. Committed to the freedom to write in U.S. prisons as a critical free expression issue of our time, we leverage the transformative possibilities of writing to raise public consciousness about the societal implications of mass incarceration and support the development of justice-involved literary talent."
Prison Policy Initiative
The non-profit, non-partisan Prison Policy Initiative produces cutting edge research to expose the broader harm of mass criminalization, and then sparks advocacy campaigns to create a more just society.
Racial Justice Clinic at Georgetown Law
The Georgetown Juvenile Justice Clinic & Initiative and The Gault Center are hosting monthly interactive strategy sessions designed to bolster advocates racial justice advocacy with research, data, and themes from The Rage of Innocence: How America Criminalizes Black Youth by Kristin Henning.
Reprieve
Reprieve is a legal action non-profit of investigators and lawyers fighting for justice equity for marginalized people facing human rights abuses.
The Sentencing Project
The Sentencing Project advocates for effective and humane responses to crime that minimize imprisonment and criminalization of youth and adults by promoting racial, ethnic, economic, and gender justice.
Vera Institute of Justice
Vera is powered by hundreds of researchers and advocates working to transform the criminal legal and immigration systems until they’re fair for all.

Latinx Resources

LSNJLAW- Legal Services of New Jersey for Spanish Speakers
Provides a list of organizations in NJ that help Spanish speakers with everything from counseling to transportation, interpretation, and childcare. Listing are organized by geographic regions in New Jersey.
Center of Excellence for Latino Health (CELH)
CELH was established to serve as a hub of health and wellness information for Latino families. As a trusted medical and community resource across New Jersey, CELH strives to increase community partnerships, promote health literacy, increase access to care, and eliminate health disparities throughout the life cycle.
Latinx and Hispanic Addiction and Mental Health Support
Live Another Day was created in early 2021 as a response to the unprecedented increase in substance abuse, mental illness, and deaths resulting from the pandemic.
NAMI - Hispanic/Latinx
The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) is the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.
National Hispanic and Latino MHTTC
Our mission is to provide high-quality training and technical assistance to improve the capacity of the workforce serving Hispanic and Latino communities in behavioral health prevention, treatment, and recovery. We disseminate and support the implementation of evidence-based and promising practices to enhance service delivery, promote the growth of a diverse, culturally competent workforce, and bridge access to quality behavioral health services.
National Latino Behavioral Health Association
The National Latino Behavioral Health Association (NLBHA) was established to fill a need for a unified national voice for Latino populations in the behavioral health arena and to bring attention to the great disparities that exist in areas of access, utilization, practice based research and adequately trained personnel.
Stress & Trauma Toolkit: For Treating Hispanics in a Changing Political and Social Environment
This introductory guide offers an array of topics that will be essential in understanding how to work with special populations experiencing stress and trauma in today's changing political environment. It provides basic information to raise awareness of the needs of special population patients and strategies to incorporate in care in psychiatric practices.
ASPIRA
ASPIRA is a national nonprofit organization devoted to the education and leadership development of Puerto Rican and other Latino youth. Activities include a health career program through which they coordinate educational workshops and seminars, provide career counseling and test preparation, and share information about financial aid. Services also include an Upward Bound program (an educational program geared towards helping high school students apply and prepare for college), various leadership programs that emphasize community involvement and cultural heritage, and a teen pregnancy prevention program. ASPIRA’s main office in New Jersey is at 390 Broad Street, 3rd floor, Newark, (973-484-7554), but programs are coordinated throughout the state. Call the Newark office for help in locating the office nearest you.
NJ Departamento de Servicios Humanos
Recursos de New Jersey, 2019-2020

LGBTQIA+ Resources

Diversity & Health Equity Education: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer/Questioning
From the American Psychiatry Organization, offers guides and toolkits.
Family Acceptance Project
"The Family Acceptance Project® is a research, intervention, education and policy initiative to prevent health and mental health risks and to promote well-being for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer-identified (LGBTQ) children and youth, including suicide, homelessness, drug use and HIV — in the context of their families, cultures and faith communities."
Family Equality
"Founded in 1979 at the National March on Washington for Lesbian and Gay Rights, Family Equality has spent more than 40 years ensuring that everyone has the freedom to find, form, and sustain their families by advancing equality for the LGBTQ+ community."
Glaad
GLAAD works through entertainment, news, and digital media to share stories from the LGBTQ community that accelerate acceptance.
GLMA Health Professionals Advancing LGBTQ Equality
"GLMA is a national organization committed to ensuring health equity for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ) and all sexual and gender minority (SGM) individuals, and equality for LGBTQ/SGM health professionals in their work and learning environments."
GLSEN
"GLSEN works to ensure that LGBTQ students are able to learn and grow in a school environment free from bullying and harassment."
Human Rights Campaign
Their goal is to ensure that all LGBTQ+ people, and particularly those who are trans, people of color and HIV+, are treated as full and equal citizens within the movement, across the country and around the world.
The Measuring Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (SOGI) Research Group
SOGI Research Group explores the best practices of the measurement of SOGI in the context of Federal information collections. The Group provides ongoing opportunities for individuals interested in statistical methods or data quality related to SOGI to interact, exchange information, and explore issues related to this topic.
PFLAG
"Our goal is to ensure that all LGBTQ+ people, and particularly those of us who are trans, people of color and HIV+, are treated as full and equal citizens within our movement, across our country and around the world."
Sage Advocacy & Services for LGBTQ+ Elders
"SAGE works to achieve a high quality of
life for LGBTQ+ older people, supports and
advocates for their rights, fosters a greater
understanding of aging in all communities, and promotes positive images of LGBTQ+ life in later years."
Trans Lifeline
Trans Lifeline is a grassroots hotline and microgrants non-profit organization offering direct emotional and financial support to trans people in crisis.
Campus Pride
The primary objective of Campus Pride is to develop necessary resources, programs and services to support LGBTQ and ally students on college campuses across the United States.
Transgender Law Center
Transgender Law Center (TLC) is the largest national trans-led organization advocating for a world in which all people are free to define themselves and their futures. Grounded in legal expertise and committed to racial justice, TLC employs a variety of community-driven strategies to keep transgender and gender nonconforming people alive, thriving, and fighting for liberation.

Womxn

GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch News central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, childcare, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders and social roles.

Global Fund for Women
We offer flexible feminist funding and support to fuel collective action
and create meaningful change that will last beyond our lifetimes
International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)
ICRW advances gender equity, social inclusion and shared prosperity. 
KFF Women's Health Policy
KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.
National Domestic Violence Hotline
National Organization for Women
As the grassroots arm of the women’s movement, the National Organization for Women is dedicated to its multi-issue and multi-strategy approach to women’s rights, and is the largest organization of feminist grassroots activists in the United States.
NJ Courts Reports on the Prevention of Domestic Violence Act
Sade Nash Leadership Project
"Sadie Nash Leadership Project’s mission is to strengthen, empower, and equip young women and gender-expansive youth of color as agents for change in their lives and in the world. Operating at the intersection of love and rigor, we use popular education to build community, critical consciousness, and college and career readiness."
WISER- Women's Institute for Science, Equity and Race
WISER’s mission is to expand women-focused policy research to include the social, economic, cultural, and political well-being of Asian, Black, Hispanic, Indigenous American, and Multiracial women.
Sex and Gender Women's Health Collaborative
Their mission is to, "To integrate sex and gender knowledge into medical education and practice to improve healthcare for all."

Unhoused

The Eviction Lab
Drawing on tens of millions of records, the Eviction Lab at Princeton University has published the first ever dataset of evictions in America, going back to 2000.
The Coalition for the Homeless
The Coalition for the Homeless is the nation’s oldest advocacy and direct service organization helping homeless individuals and families.
Homeless World Cup
We operate a Global Network, bringing together more than 70 grassroot organisations that are using football to tackle homelessness and social isolation.
We provide a focus for – and a celebration of – their year-round activity with the Homeless World Cup, our landmark international street football tournament. We also support their day-to-day work by building international connections, facilitating skill sharing and helping our members to develop.
The National Low Income Housing Coalition
The National Low Income Housing Coalition is dedicated to achieving racially and socially equitable public policy that ensures people with the lowest incomes have quality homes that are accessible and affordable in communities of their choice.
Unhoused
Unhoused.org is a social impact startup focused on using technology to help the unhoused.
Volunteers of America
Volunteers of America works to prevent and end homelessness through a range of support services including eviction prevention, emergency services, transitional housing and permanent affordable housing.
Fair Share Housing Center
This non-profit organization works to promote housing justice for all. "We use legal strategies, policy reform, and community-building initiatives to fight for racial, economic, and housing justice in New Jersey and beyond."
SHELTER Podcast
SHELTER is a podcast series looking at housing insecurities in a time of pandemic and the role academic and religious institutions can play in partnering with the community to find solutions.

CJ 315: Research Methods

We the Unhoused Podcast

Specialist Librarian