MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HE/NU 365: Wisdom, Wellness, and Aging: Databases/Articles

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides. 

Suggested Journals

The following journals can be browsed for articles on gerontology issues. Journal issues can be searched by topic and country.

Search Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific.
eg. japan AND elderly AND housing

Use synonyms and alternative terms. Related terms, broader or narrower, will also bring up relevant results.
eg.
elderly | aged | senior | geriatric

Use "quotation marks" to search for phrases.
"chronic disease"

You can limit search results in many databases to academic/peer-reviewed journals, by publication date, or full-text only.

Suggested Databases for Healthcare Topics

For information on topics required for your assignments, you will need to consult our Research Databases for scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles. Below are some suggestions for health and nursing databases. 

Tips on search terms to use when searching databases for the geriatric population in a specific country: elderly and Japan

HawkFind

HawkFind is a tool to search all the Library's major databases simultaneously. This is recommended if you are searching for general topics. For example, for this course you can search: elderly and Japan and housing. Limit your results to peer reviewed articles and the last 5 or 10 years for recent articles.

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed

In most databases, you can use filters to limit search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in the same field prior to publication.

How do you know an article is scholarly?

  • Limit search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly
  • Authors' affiliations are noted
  • Research findings are presented with supporting charts and tables
  • Disciplinary terminology is used
  • Common sections include: abstract, intro/background, methodology, results/findings, discussion/implications, and conclusion
  • References are listed at the end of the article
  • Typically more than 5 or 10 pages

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search