Starter Resources are very broad-based, general resources that are used only in the earliest stages of research when the researcher is seeking an overview of a topic or is attempting to narrow an overly broad topic. In the context of college-level research assignments, they are merely gateway resources and as such, should not be used in place of in-depth, substantive sources. See the other tabs for a selection of books, databases, and websites that offer more detailed, focused information.
Can't find something you need? The interlibrary loan service can obtain the books or articles you are looking for.
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology by
This revised second edition serves not only as a self-instructional reference tool for logically and systematically accessing anthropological literature but also as a basic text for library instruction programs for undergraduate and graduate anthropology students.The first section outlines the historical development of the discipline, identifies the informational needs of anthropologists, and describes the structure and organization of libraries as sources of anthropological information. A variety of research strategies and methods for conducting library research are explored as well. The second section consists of nineteen chapters describing the various kinds of research tools available to the anthropologist. Included are descriptions of scope, arrangement, and content for hundreds of reference works, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, subject and regional bibliographies, guides to specialized libraries and archives, indexes and abstracts, Human Relations Area Files, and computerized databases. Electronic databases are identified throughout the volume, and a chapter is devoted to Internet resources.Appendixes summarize the Library of Congress classification scheme for anthropology, identify the major anthropology library collections in the United States and Canada, and describe the arrangement of Human Relations Area Files classification system.
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology by 
Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources by 
Finding the Source in Sociology and Anthropology: A Thesaurus-index to the Reference Collection by 
The Cambridge World History of Food by
An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
The Handbook of Food and Anthropology by
Named a Choice Outstanding Academic Title of the Year 2017 This Handbook features 20 original essays by leading figures in the discipline, which examine traditional areas of research as well as cutting-edge areas of inquiry. Divided into three parts - Food, Self and Other; Food Security, Nutrition and Food Safety; Food as Craft, Industry and Ethics - the book covers topics such as identity, commensality, locality, migration, ethical consumption, artisanal foods and children's food. Each chapter features rich ethnography alongside wider analysis of the subject. Internationally renowned scholars offer insights into their core areas of specialty including Michael Herzfeld on culinary stereotypes, David Sutton on how to conduct an anthropology of cooking, Johan Pottier on food insecurity and Melissa L. Caldwell on practising food anthropology. Now available in paperback, this is a field-defining survey of the area and its key themes. A new afterword by Cristina Grasseni adds a reflection on the original essays and how the field has continued to develop.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
The Cambridge World History of Food by
An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental two-volume work encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers by
Hunting and gathering is humanity's first and most successful adaptation. Until 12,000 years ago, all humanity lived this way. Surprisingly, in an increasingly urbanized and technological world dozens of hunting and gathering societies have persisted and thrive worldwide, resilient in the face of change, their ancient ways now combined with the trappings of modernity. The Encyclopedia is divided into three parts. The first contains case studies, by leading experts, of over fifty hunting and gathering peoples, in seven major world regions. There is a general introduction and an archaeological overview for each region. Part II contains thematic essays on prehistory, social life, gender, music and art, health, religion, and indigenous knowledge. The final part surveys the complex histories of hunter-gatherers' encounters with colonialism and the state, and their ongoing struggles for dignity and human rights as part of the worldwide movement of indigenous peoples.
Key Concepts in Ethnography by
"An accessible and entertaining read, useful to anybody interested in the ethnographic method."- Paul Miller, University of Cumbria"A very good introduction to ethnographic research, particularly useful for first time researchers."- Heather Macdonald, Chester University"The perfect introductory guide for students embarking on qualitative research for the first time... This should be of aid to the ethnographic novice in their navigating what is a theoretically complex and changing methodological field."- Patrick Turner, London Metropolitan UniversityAn accessible, authoritative, non-nonsense guide to the key concepts in one of the most widely used methodologies in social science: Ethnography, this book: Explores and summarises the basic and related issues in ethnography that are covered nowhere else in a single text. Examines key topics like sampling, generalising, participant observation and rapport, as well as embracing new fields such as virtual, visual and multi-sighted ethnography and issues such as reflexivity, writing and ethics. Presents each concept comprehensively yet critically, alongside relevant examples. This is not quite an encyclopaedia but far more than a dictionary. It is comprehensive yet brief. It is small and neat, easy to hold and flick through. It is what students and researchers have been waiting for.
