MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PY 320: Research III: Experimental Methods: Databases/Articles

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides. 

Google

If the Mental Measurements database does not have information on your questionnaire or measurement tool, you can search by test name or test acronym on Google. You can access information on the test, and often a copy a test questions. 

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed

In most databases, you can use filters to limit search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in the same field prior to publication.

How do you know an article is scholarly?

  • Limit search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly
  • Authors' affiliations are noted
  • Research findings are presented with supporting charts and tables
  • Disciplinary terminology is used
  • Common sections include: abstract, intro/background, methodology, results/findings, discussion/implications, and conclusion
  • References are listed at the end of the article
  • Typically more than 5 or 10 pages

Best Bets for Psychology Articles

Start with the following Monmouth University subscription databases to find disciplinary journal articles. Remote access is available using your student ID and password.

Search Tips: enter keywords for your topic in the search boxes. If you want to identify articles that include research findings using questionnaires or surveys, add that as a separate line. Click Search button for results. 

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) Search Tips

Mental Measurements Yearbook

The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) containes information and critical appraisals of test products in pyschology, education, business, and leadership. The database covers more than 7,500 commercially available tests in categories such as personality, development, behavior assessment, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, edcuation, speech & hearing, and sensory motor skills. Copies of tests are not included, but publisher information is noted. Test questions are often avialable by searching Google for the test.

To search by topic, enter your terms in the search boxes.

To search by test name, enter the name of the test in the search box and select the test name field option.

After you enter the terms and click the search button, you see a list of results.

Click the title of the test in the search results to view the test record. Each record includes test acronym, authors, publisher, publication date, purpose, population, test description, and more. Below the description is at least one review written by an expert.