LibGuides: BK 401: Marketing Research: Getting Started

Why Should I Use Reference Resources?

Beginning your research with reference resources helps you discover background information like terminology, central figures and dates and an overview of existing literature on your topic. Look for:

Definitions of key terms
Historical context
Biographical information
Critical interpretation of texts
Bibliographies detailing relevant scholarship

Where to Begin

General background information is helpful in the early stages of a research project. These databases are an excellent place to begin.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window General database for scholarly articles in most disciplines.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window Also includes atlas, world data, the Classics, biographies, news & multimedia plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Reports on topics of national interest including overview, chronology, pro/con & more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo contains full text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference is a comprehensive online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together two million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the worlds top political and societal publications. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window General database for scholarly and popular articles on most disciplines.

General Business Reference

Business Library and How to Use It by Ernest Maier (Editor); Anthony Faria (Editor); Peter Kaatrude (Editor); Elizabeth Wood (Editor)
Call Number: Z 675 B8 B87 1996
ISBN: 0780800265
Business Reference Services and Sources by Linda S. Katz
Call Number: Z 675 B8 B88 1997
ISBN: 0789003597
Business Research Handbook by Kathy E. Shimpock
Call Number: HF 54.52 U5 S54 1996
ISBN: 0316808814
Dictionary of Business by Peter Collin
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781408102244
t