HS 461-50: Research Seminar in History

Credo contains full text encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Cambridge Core will be the new academic online platform from Cambridge University Press. It will be a sophisticated, high-performing replacement for our existing platforms, Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) and Cambridge Books Online (CBO).

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

This database offers full-page digital reproductions of every page (images and articles) from every issue, cover to cover, from the New York Times in downloadable PDF files.

The largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1759 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.

More than 350 newspapers provide a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment and more
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles.

Covering 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres. These diverse periodicals—which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture—will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.

American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.

Thousands of African American interviews from a broad range of backgrounds and experiences. This resource provides high-quality video content, fully searchable transcripts, and unique content from individuals whose life stories would have been lost were it not for the HistoryMakers.

> Features videotaped first person testimony of both well-known and unsung African Americans recorded in 180 cities and towns across the United States
> Over 9,000 hours (2,800 interviews) of unique content, the interviews in The HistoryMakers Digital Archive range from 90 minutes to 15 hours in length, and are housed permanently at the Library of Congress
> Fifteen distinct categories: Art, Business, Civics, Education, Entertainment, Law, Media, Medicine, Military, Music, Politics, Religion, STEM, Sports, and Style (Fashion & Beauty)

This database provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. In some cases the full text is available.

Primary Sources - includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 90,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years.

This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846, is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines.

An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading womens interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 .

Please use this link or from the Library website in order to see links to full text of articles.