LibGuides: New Jersey History: Databases

Introduction

Databases, listed on the right, will lead you to peer-reviewed journals, specific to the study of New Jersey History. Please note that articles published in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by experts and rigorously vetted before publication. Popular magazines, such as the ones found on magazine racks of large booksellers or published on Google, are not peer-reviewed.

Access to peer-reviewed materials is possible only through academic affiliation; i.e.,undergraduates, graduates, and faculty.

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database recommended for finding scholarly articles in most disciplines. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Created by the Alexander Street Press, this Web site showcases letters and diaries from the American Civil War. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, and there are over 2,000 authors in the collection.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published.
New York Times Historical: 1851-2019 This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page digital reproductions of every page (images and articles) from every issue, cover to cover, from the New York Times in downloadable PDF files.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
New Jersey Digital Highway This link opens in a new window
The New Jersey Digital Highway is your "one stop shop" for New Jersey history and culture, from the collections of NJ libraries, museums, archives and historical societies.
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
The largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1759 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. In some cases the full text is available.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of many scholarly journals in history, political science and literature. 1993+
US Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Local and regional news coverage - newspapers
Westlaw Campus Research Law, News and Business This link opens in a new window

Spotlighted Journal

New Jersey History

Journals & Newspapers

Google Scholar

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find something you need? The interlibrary loan service can obtain the books or articles you are looking for.