LibGuides: Geography: Articles

Looking for Articles

Use research databases to search for articles. Most databases allow you to limit to scholarly or peer reviewed articles. Some databases will return full text articles, and abstracts or summaries of articles.

Use the GET ARTICLE or LINK TO FULL TEXT link to see if an article is available in another database. If an article is unavailable through Monmouth University Library it may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Subscription databases are available to Monmouth University students, faculty and staff. For remote log in, use your university username and password.

You can view the entire list of MU databases by subject or A to Z.

Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online contains video and film for the study of human culture and behavior.

Journal Locator

Already have a citation?

Use the Journal Locator to search for or within a journal or periodical.

Enter the title of the periodical, such as American Historical Review, College English, or the Wall Street Journal. The Locator will let you know if MU has access to the title.

Databases for Geography-Related Topics

Databases for Digging Deeper

eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
CIAO contains theory and research in international affairs from 1991 onward, and includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
CQ Researcher
Non-partisan reports on topics of national interest. Each article contains overview, chronology, pro/con, resources, and more. (1991-present)
Food Studies Online
This database provides access to historical videos, government reports and data, and books on a variety of food related topics.
Historic Map Works
This collection contains historical maps of the United States and the World dating from the 15th through the 19th centuries.
Newsstream (ProQuest)
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and newswires.

Popular vs Trade vs Scholarly

	Popular Magazines	Trade Journals	Scholarly Journals
Audience	All readers	Professionals working in a specific field. Example: Nurses	Scholars and Students
Appearance	Glossy paper, many ads and pictures	Glossy paper, short articles, many ads and pictures	Research articles with charts and graphics, few pictures
Author	Freelance writers or journalists hired by magazine	Members of the profession	Professors, scholars or teachers in the field
Purpose	Entertain and inform	Keep professionals up to date with trends in the field	Publish new research in the field
References	Very few citations	Very few citations	References are listed at the end of each article
Authority	Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors	Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors	Articles undergo peer-review by scholars within the same field
Frequency	Published weekly or monthly	Published weekly or monthly	Published a few times a year, quarterly
Examples	Time, People	Advertising Age, Education Week	Higher Education Research & Development