MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHA 625: Research Methods: Articles

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides. 

Search Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific.
eg. elderly AND dementia

Use synonyms and alternative terms. Related terms, broader or narrower, will also bring up relevant results.
eg.
elderly | aged | seniors | geriatric

Use "quotation marks" to search for phrases.
"quality of life"

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. 
eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

You can limit search results in many databases to academic/peer-reviewed journals, by publication date, or full-text only.

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed

In most databases, you can use filters to limit search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in the same field prior to publication.

How do you know an article is scholarly?

  • Limit search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly
  • Authors' affiliations are noted
  • Research findings are presented with supporting charts and tables
  • Disciplinary terminology is used
  • Common sections include: abstract, intro/background, methodology, results/findings, discussion/implications, and conclusion
  • References are listed at the end of the article
  • Typically more than 5 or 10 pages

Suggested Databases for Nursing & Health Studies

Medical Research Databases

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Types of Magazines and Journals

 

 

Popular Magazines

Trade Journals

Scholarly Journals

Audience

All readers

Professionals working in a specific field. Example: Nurses

Scholars and Students

Appearance

Glossy paper, many ads and pictures

Glossy paper, short articles, many ads and pictures

Research articles with charts and graphics, few pictures

Author

Freelance writers or journalists hired by magazine

Members of the profession

Professors, scholars or teachers in the field

Purpose

Entertain and inform

Keep professionals up to date with trends in the field

Publish new research in the field

References

Very few citations

Very few citations

References are listed at the end of each article

Authority

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles undergo peer-review by scholars within the same field

Frequency

Published weekly or monthly

Published weekly or monthly

Published a few times a year, quarterly

Examples

Time, People

Advertising Age, Education Week

Higher Education Research & Development

 

 

  Google Scholar

If you try searching Google Scholar below, you may find some scholarly full-text materials available for free.  You can also check to see if we have them for free via one of our research databases.  Go to Journal Locator and type in the journal title in which the article was published.

Google Scholar Search

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.