MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HE 370: Alternative/Complementary Health Topics: Articles

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides. 

Topics

Aromatherapy

Chiropractic

Energy medicine

Flower therapy

Herbs, Vitamins, Minerals and Nutritional Supplements

Homeopathy

Kinesiology

Meditation

Reflexology

Reiki

Spiritual, Religion & Prayer

Tai Chi

Therapeutic Massage

Chinese Medicine - accupuncture, accupressure

Yoga

Alternative Medicine Database

Search Tips in Alt Healthwatch: 

You can use two approaches for searching for articles 

1) by illness or health problem to find four types of alternative medicine solutions- use keywords asthma and treatment

2) search by CAM therapy to identify different applications - use keyword aromatherapy or essential oils

Research Databases

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Searching Tips

Identify keywords for your topic and search the databases with these terms:

e.g. "brain injury" and "music therapy"

Using "quotation marks" improves searching for a phrase.

You can also limit by age category e.g. adult

Google Scholar

If you try searching Google Scholar below, you may find some scholarly full-text materials available for free.  You can also check to see if we have them for free via one of our research databases. 

Google Scholar Search