MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology

Welcome! This guide will point you to research resources for a variety of Psychology topics.

Searching Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific. eg. substance abuse AND domestic violence

Use synonyms and alternative terms Related terms - broader or narrower - will also bring up relevant results. eg. teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

Restrict searches to academic, peer-reviewed journals

Best Bets for Psychology Articles

Start with the following Monmouth University subscription databases to find journal or newspaper articles. Remote access is available using your student ID and password.

Additional Databases

Search All Library Resources at Once: HawkFind

           Advanced Search


  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Full-text Access

Many databases provide full-text access to journals. However, you can use the GET ARTICLE icon to search for full-text coverage of the title you need in one of the other databases. If no access is available, you can request and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the materials.

ILL Request Form

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Check for Peer-Review

Not sure if a particular journal is peer-reviewed? Check out Ulrichsweb. This database (also found in the A-Z database list from "Quick Links" on the library website) provides detailed information on publications. Look for the referee icon to indicate it is a peer-reviewed journal.

The black and white “ref jersey” icon below indicates that Higher Education is a peer-reviewed journal, but Education Week is not.