MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PY 103: Intro to Psychology: Databases/Articles

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides. 

Research Worksheet

Searching Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific. eg. substance abuse AND domestic violence

Use synonyms and alternative terms Related terms - broader or narrower - will also bring up relevant results. eg. teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

Restrict searches to academic, peer-reviewed journals

Search All Library Resources at Once: HawkFind

           Advanced Search


  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Best Bet Databases

PsycINFO Tutorial: This tutorial demonstrates advanced searching in PsycINFO. It was created by Middlesex County College. 

Additional Databases

Characteristics of Scholarly and Popular Sources

Popular Scholarly
  • Purpose is to provide information or entertain
  • Articles report on current events, hot topics, or general interest
  • Short articles
  • Written for the general public
  • Written by general staff or freelance writers
  • Reviewed by general editor
  • No references or very few references
  • Purpose is to share discipline-specific research and scholarship
  • Articles report on new research
  • Lengthy, in-depth articles
  • Articles have a formal structure. Often includes an abstract, literature review, methods, results, and a discussion.
  • Written for researchers & professionals
  • Written by experts in the field & researchers
  • Peer reviewed by subject experts
  • Extensive references

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find books or articles you need?  

Request an
Interlibrary Loan

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed

In most databases, you can use filters to limit search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in the same field prior to publication.

How do you know an article is scholarly?

  • Limit search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly
  • Authors' affiliations are noted
  • Research findings are presented with supporting charts and tables
  • Disciplinary terminology is used
  • Common sections include: abstract, intro/background, methodology, results/findings, discussion/implications, and conclusion
  • References are listed at the end of the article
  • Typically more than 5 or 10 pages