MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Orientation: Finding Articles

This guide provides an introduction to resources and services offered by the Monmouth University Library.

Journal Locator

Already have a citation?

Use the Journal Locator to search for or within a journal or periodical.

Enter the title of the periodical, such as American Historical Review, College English, or the Wall Street Journal. The Locator will let you know if MU has access to the title.

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Library Subscription Databases

The MU library currently subscribes to more than 150 databases which are accessible in the Library or through remote access 24/7.

If you need help in determining which database provides the best coverage, check our Research Guides  for recommended sources based on your topic.

An alphabetical list of all our databases can be found on the Library's Research Databases page.

To get started on topics of general interest, try these databases:

Search Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific.
eg. "substance abuse" AND domestic violence

Use synonyms and alternative terms. Related terms, broader or narrower, will also bring up relevant results.
eg.
teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use "quotation marks" to search for phrases.
"substance abuse"

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. 
eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

You can limit search results in many databases to academic/peer-reviewed journals, by publication date, or full-text only.

Types of Magazines & Journals

 

Popular Magazines

Trade Journals

Scholarly Journals

Audience

All readers

Professionals working in a specific field. Example: Nurses

Scholars and Students

Appearance

Glossy paper, many ads and pictures

Glossy paper, short articles, many ads and pictures

Research articles with charts and graphics, few pictures

Author

Freelance writers or journalists hired by magazine

Members of the profession

Professors, scholars or teachers in the field

Purpose

Entertain and inform

Keep professionals up to date with trends in the field

Publish new research in the field

References

Very few citations

Very few citations

References are listed at the end of each article

Authority

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles undergo peer-review by scholars within the same field

Frequency

Published weekly or monthly

Published weekly or monthly

Published a few times a year, quarterly

Examples

Time, People

Advertising Age, Education Week

Higher Education Research & Development

 

 

Research Process Tutorial

Reading a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: NCSU Libraries

Learn about clues to look for in identifying a scholarly article.