MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PR 433-Death and Dying: Articles

Resources for the Perspectives Health Studies course PR433-Death and Dying

Finding Journal Articles

To locate databases and journal articles available from Monmouth University, go to the Research Databases page.  Databases specific to Nursing & Health Studies are found on the Research Databases page under the dropdown subject listings.

Suggested Databases for PR433

For information on topics for Death & Dying, you will need to consult our Research Databases for scholarly journal articles.  Below are some suggestions for databases that will be most helpful to you.

Subject terms: assisted suicide, terminal care, euthanasia
Narrow topic using AND: health care costs; ethics; religion
Specific cases: Karen Ann Quinlan; Terry Schiavo; Elizabeth Bouvia; Larry McAfee

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Types of Magazines and Journals

 

 

Popular Magazines

Trade Journals

Scholarly Journals

Audience

All readers

Professionals working in a specific field. Example: Nurses

Scholars and Students

Appearance

Glossy paper, many ads and pictures

Glossy paper, short articles, many ads and pictures

Research articles with charts and graphics, few pictures

Author

Freelance writers or journalists hired by magazine

Members of the profession

Professors, scholars or teachers in the field

Purpose

Entertain and inform

Keep professionals up to date with trends in the field

Publish new research in the field

References

Very few citations

Very few citations

References are listed at the end of each article

Authority

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles undergo peer-review by scholars within the same field

Frequency

Published weekly or monthly

Published weekly or monthly

Published a few times a year, quarterly

Examples

Time, People

Advertising Age, Education Week

Higher Education Research & Development

 

 

Google Scholar

If you try searching Google Scholar below, you may find some scholarly full-text materials available for free.  You can also check to see if we have them for free via one of our research databases.  Go to Journal Locator and type in the journal title in which the article was published. 

Google Scholar Search