MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Faculty: Articles

Research Databases

The MU library currently subscribes to more than 150 databases which are accessible in the Library or through remote access 24/7. To find the best databases for conducting research in your discipline, check our Research Guides  for recommended sources. Course-specific Research LibGuides can be developed for any MU course, contact the liaison librarian for your department. An alphabetical list of all our databases can be found on the Library's Research Databases page. HawkFind, the library's discovery tool, searches our major databases simultaneously.

Access to Databases

All Monmouth University students, faculty and staff have access to subscription databases on campus.

Remote access to databases requires entry of username and password (same as email) for verification.

Many databases provide full text access to journals. However, you can use the GET ARTICLE icon to search for full text coverage of the title you need in one of the other databases. If no access is available, you can request and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the materials which takes 1-2 weeks.

 ILL request form

Journal Locator

If you already have a citation to an article or want to browse issues, use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

  Searching Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific. eg. substance abuse AND domestic violence

Use synonyms and alternative terms Related terms - broader or narrower - will also bring up relevant results. eg. teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

Restrict searches to academic, peer-reviewed journals

Popular vs Trade vs Scholarly

 

Popular Magazines

Trade Journals

Scholarly Journals

Audience

All readers

Professionals working in a specific field. Example: Nurses

Scholars and Students

Appearance

Glossy paper, many ads and pictures

Glossy paper, short articles, many ads and pictures

Research articles with charts and graphics, few pictures

Author

Freelance writers or journalists hired by magazine

Members of the profession

Professors, scholars or teachers in the field

Purpose

Entertain and inform

Keep professionals up to date with trends in the field

Publish new research in the field

References

Very few citations

Very few citations

References are listed at the end of each article

Authority

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles undergo peer-review by scholars within the same field

Frequency

Published weekly or monthly

Published weekly or monthly

Published a few times a year, quarterly

Examples

Time, People

Advertising Age, Education Week

Higher Education Research & Development

 

 

Reading a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: NCSU Libraries

Learn about clues to look for in identifying a scholarly article.