MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Faculty: Special Collections

  FDLP

  NJ Collection

The New Jersey Collection encompasses some 3100 books, periodicals, and cataloged documents pertaining to New Jersey, with particular subject emphasis on Monmouth County.

Lewis Mumford

  Federal Depository Library Program

Monmouth University Library participates in the Federal Deposit Library Program (FDLP), and is a selective depository for United States government publications. The library collects documents on a wide range of topics from the legislative, executive and judicial branches of government. The collection is especially strong in the areas of health and human service, criminal justice, education, and business. All government resources are available for use by the Monmouth University community as well as the general public.  

Documents are available in print, microfiche or online format.

Please contact the Reference Desk at 732-571-3438 or the government documents librarian, Susan Bucks at 732-263-5591 if you require assistance.

Special Collections

The Monmouth University Library houses several special collections for use by faculty and students - New Jersey Collection, Lewis Mumford Collection, and the Rare Books Collection. Materials in these collection are restricted to in-library use, and cannot be checked out. Please contact George Germek ggermek@monmouth.edu for appointments to use the Mumford or Rare Book Collections. 

Please see the Special Collection Research LibGuide for additional information on the Mumford, Rare Book, or New Jersey collections.

  About the New Jersey Collection

The Collection is housed in Room 222 on the second floor of the Library’s Guggenheim Wing. Patrons are invited to use the Collection anytime during library hours. Please note, however, that the New Jersey Collection holdings are for library use only and may not be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan. Bibliographic records for currently available collection holdings are retrievable via the Monmouth University Library online public access catalog. Specific inquiries about the Collection may be made by emailing ggermek@monmouth.edu.

  About Lewis Mumford

Monmouth University Library houses the personal library of dynamic American writer, literary critic, eminent moralist, architectural critic, historian and philosopher, Lewis Mumford. Born in Flushing, NY, on October 19, 1895, Mumford’s extensive contributions to literary scholarship, technology, urban planning, and architecture are globally recognized for their uncanny prescience and social vision. Mumford, a strong humanist, criticized progress based on the intoxicating power of technology and the machine. Instead, Mumford argued, civilization, and its advancement, should be cultivated by language and humanism, and that technology should serve only the betterment of people, rather than to acquire global domination, promote military prowess, or erode individualism. He saw the automobile as a dangerous product that harms the environment and pollutes and congests our cities, and he warned about our ultimate dependence on foreign oil.

Yet Lewis Mumford was no pacifist—he despised fascism and urged America to fight in both World Wars, but did not support the war in Vietnam. He was, however, no champion of liberalism. Like George Orwell, he accused liberal contemporaries of being corrupt, and claimed that their “willingness to submit to the Nazis rather than risk the need for using force in opposing them” was, in the main, disturbing and repellant. Lewis Mumford joined the US Navy during World War I as a radio operator. During World War II he suffered great tragedy when his son was killed fighting in Italy. His many prestigious awards include the Medal of Freedom from President Lyndon Johnson, the Presidential Medal of Art and Citation from Ronald Reagan, and the Knight of the British Empire (K.B.E), an honor bestowed on him by Queen Elizabeth II. These achievements are all the more remarkable when we consider that Lewis Mumford did not take an academic degree from any university.

The Mumford Collection contains more than 3500 books, excepting his manuscripts and letters (which are in possession of the University of Pennsylvania). It is located on the third floor of the MU Library. The MU Library can also provide tours of the Mumford Collection to undergraduate and graduate classes by request.

  Rare Book Collection

The  Monmouth Univesity Rare Book Collection, located together with the Mumford Collection, focuses on early English history, military history, and 18th-19th-century English and American literature.