LibGuides: Biology: Find Articles

Search All Library Resources at Once: HawkFind

Advanced Searching in HawkFind

Best Bet Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Biology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Science and biology - journal articles and magazines
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students and clinical specialists, this database provides more than 200 full text journals. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Other Relevant Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window Database of articles and other materials on agriculture and allied disciplines produced by the National Agricultural Library.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Click on the "Full Text @ MU Library" to check for full text access.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text scientific, technical and medical articles from Elsevier Publishing.
Today's Science This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of the publication, Today's Science on File, from 1992 to the present, with accessible information on breaking news in science, health, and technology. Includes biographies, glossaries, graphics, and overview articles. Anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, environment, health, mathematics, physics, psychology, technology.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window SciFinder allows you to access the world's largest collection of biochemical, chemical, chemical engineering, medical, and other related information. You can explore one single source for scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window An e-print service which presents papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas.
BioMedCentral Open Access This link opens in a new window provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

Science Publications

Here are a few notable science periodicals. Use the Journal Locator to find others.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar-Find Additional Articles from a Known Source

Check for Peer-Review

Not sure if a particular journal is peer-reviewed? Check out Ulrichsweb. This database (also found in the A-Z database list from "Quick Links" on the library website) provides detailed information on publications. Look for the referee icon to indicate it is a peer-reviewed journal.

The black and white “ref jersey” icon below indicates that Higher Education is a peer-reviewed journal, but Education Week is not.