Starter Resources are very broad-based, general resources that are used only in the earliest stages of research when the researcher is seeking an overview of a topic or is attempting to narrow an overly broad topic. In the context of college-level research assignments, they are merely gateway resources and as such, should not be used in place of in-depth, substantive sources. See the other tabs for a selection of books, databases, and websites that offer more detailed, focused information.
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology by
This revised second edition serves not only as a self-instructional reference tool for logically and systematically accessing anthropological literature but also as a basic text for library instruction programs for undergraduate and graduate anthropology students.The first section outlines the historical development of the discipline, identifies the informational needs of anthropologists, and describes the structure and organization of libraries as sources of anthropological information. A variety of research strategies and methods for conducting library research are explored as well. The second section consists of nineteen chapters describing the various kinds of research tools available to the anthropologist. Included are descriptions of scope, arrangement, and content for hundreds of reference works, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, subject and regional bibliographies, guides to specialized libraries and archives, indexes and abstracts, Human Relations Area Files, and computerized databases. Electronic databases are identified throughout the volume, and a chapter is devoted to Internet resources.Appendixes summarize the Library of Congress classification scheme for anthropology, identify the major anthropology library collections in the United States and Canada, and describe the arrangement of Human Relations Area Files classification system.
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology by 
Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources by 
Anthropological Resources: A Guide to Archival, Library, and Museum Collections by 
Finding the Source in Sociology and Anthropology: A Thesaurus-index to the Reference Collection by 
Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art by 
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by
Archaeology is a subject that fascinates us. From Egyptian tombs to a frozen Alpine wayfarer, from cities buried under volcanic ash to stone arrow heads turned up by the plow, archaeology is in the news and in our backyards. It is paradoxical that a subject that so easily captures the imagination is so difficult for the serious layman to access. Superficial media treatments and picture-book atlases and site guides on the one hand, jargon-heavy scholarly books and narrowly focused articles on the other-there are few ways to learn about the real world of archaeology outside the college classroom or the dig site. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology changes this, in making all aspects of archaeology accessible to a broad audience of the general scientific community, educators, students, and avocational archaeologists. Professional archaeologists and anthropologists will also find the encyclopedia a ready source of up-to-date information on specialities outside their own expertise. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured in the Encyclopedia of Archaeology are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe. No existing work provides the breadth and depth of coverage as the Encyclopedia of Archaeology. Also available online via ScienceDirect (2007) - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures by 
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Can't find something you need? The interlibrary loan service can obtain the books or articles you are looking for.
