We're here to help you! You can reach us by chat, email, or phone. You can also set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian.
Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.
Many databases provide full-text access to journals. However, you can use the GET ARTICLE icon to search for full-text coverage of the title you need in one of the other databases. If no access is available, you can request and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the materials.
For information on topics required for your assignments, you will need to consult our Research Databases for scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles.
Google Scholar searches articles, books, theses, and other content. Searching Google Scholar is easy, but it doesn't give you the ability to filter to peer-reviewed journal articles.
If you need to be sure the article you found is from a peer-reviewed journal, use Ulrichsweb as described in the box below.
Always access Google Scholar from the link above or the "Resources" list on the front page of the library website. When you use these links, your MU credentials will be authenticated, giving you access to library resources found in Google Scholar. Look for the "Full-Text @ MU Library" link in your results list. You can also click on the Google Scholar logo above to search using your MU credentials.
One useful feature of Google Scholar is the ability to find articles that have cited an article you already have. See the handout below for more information.
Not sure if a particular journal is peer-reviewed? Check out Ulrichsweb. This database (also found in the A-Z database list from "Quick Links" on the library website) provides detailed information on publications. Look for the referee icon to indicate it is a peer-reviewed journal.
The black and white “ref jersey” icon in the screenshot below indicates that Higher Education is a peer-reviewed journal, but Education Week is not.
