MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HE 212: Lifelong Health: Articles

This guide provides resources for the Health Studies course HE212-Lifelong Health

JAMA Online

Search for articles in the JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association):

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Full-text Access

Many databases provide full-text access to journals. However, you can use the GET ARTICLE icon to search for full-text coverage of the title you need in one of the other databases. If no access is available, you can request and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the materials.

 ILL Request Form

Suggested Databases for HE212

For information on topics required for your assignments, you will need to consult our Research Databases for scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles. 

Below are some suggestions for health and nursing databases:

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Evaluating Resources

 

                Popular

                Trade

                Scholarly

·  Colorful covers

·   Glossy paper

·  Ads

·  Articles on current

    events

·  General interest

·  Short articles

·  Written by general staff

·  Reviewed by general

    editor

·  No bibliographies

    or footnotes

·  Usually called magazine

·  Glossy

·  Ads

·  Articles on industry

trends

·  Short articles

·  Written for members

of specific industry

·  Written by staff or

    experts in the field

·  Short or no

    bibliographies

 

·  Plain cover, plain paper

·  No ads

·  Primary research, theories, methodologies

·  Lengthy, in-depth articles

·  Written for researchers &

    professionals

·  Written by experts in the

    field & researchers

·  Peer review by subject

    experts

·  Extensive bibliographies &

    references