LibGuides: AR-342: History of New &amp; Expanded Media in Art: Find Images

Finding Images in Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains full text encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Art and photography books are a great source for images. Scanners are available in the MU Library. Remember to cite the book, as well as the image.

Observe copyright restrictions and properly cite all images downloaded from the web.

AICT Free access and free use of images of art and architectural works in the public domain. Images are referenced to important art history texts.
Image Exchange: Online Resource for Teaching Architecture images intended for educational use. Guidelines describe use and restrictions.
flickr Commons Images with no known copyright restrictions from participating institutions.
Digital Scriptorium A database of medieval and renaissance manuscript images intended for educational and teaching purposes.
Library of Congress Digital Collections Open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Public access to the digitized collections of the New York Public Library, including postcards, maps, photographs, manuscripts and more.
Web Gallery of Art Emphasis on European art 11th - 19th centuries.
Princeton University Library Digital Collections
Includes manuscripts, maps, posters, prints and so on from Princeton University collections.

Image citations typically include the following:

Images from the web should include the URL and date of access.

Images from books should include the book citation.