MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NU 585/586: School Nursing: Articles

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides. 

Some Suggested Journals

You can browse issues of these journals to look at current topics of interest in school nursing.

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed

In most databases, you can use filters to limit search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in the same field prior to publication.

How do you know an article is scholarly?

  • Limit search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly
  • Authors' affiliations are noted
  • Research findings are presented with supporting charts and tables
  • Disciplinary terminology is used
  • Common sections include: abstract, intro/background, methodology, results/findings, discussion/implications, and conclusion
  • References are listed at the end of the article
  • Typically more than 5 or 10 pages

Finding Articles for NU585

You will need to consult our Research Databases for scholarly journal articles.  Below are some suggestions for databases that will be most helpful to you.

Search tips: when searching the databases, include the phrase "school nursing" to narrow results to this field of nursing, and add more specific keywords: (eg. "school nursing" AND medication AND child*). Also, use limiters for scholarly articles and last 7 years as publication date.

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Popular Magazines vs Scholarly Journals

Google Scholar

If you try searching Google Scholar below, you may find some scholarly full-text materials available for free.  You can also check to see if we have them for free via one of our research databases.  Go to Journal Locator and type in the journal title in which the article was published.

Google Scholar Search

Journal Locator

Use Journal Locator to see if the Library has full text access to a journal or magazine, or to browse for articles in the title.