MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Homeland Security: Find Articles

This guide identifies key library and web resources for students in the Homeland Security program.

Looking for Articles

Use research databases to search for articles. Most databases allow you to limit to scholarly or peer reviewed articles. Some databases will return full text articles, and abstracts or summaries of articles.

Use the GET ARTICLE or LINK TO FULL TEXT link to see if an article is available in another database. If an article is unavailable through Monmouth University Library it may be requested through 
Interlibrary Loan

Subscription databases are available to Monmouth University students, faculty and staff. For remote log in, use your university username and password.

View the entire list of MU databases here:
A to Z List of Databases

Databases by Subject

Journal Locator

Already have a citation?

Use the Journal Locator to search for or within a journal or periodical.

Enter the title of the periodical, such as American Historical Review, College English, or the Wall Street Journal. The Locator will let you know if MU has access to the title.

Homeland Security Digital Library

The HSDL is the best place to search for open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Documents are drawn from federal, state, tribal, local, and international government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, and academic institutions. You must be on campus to access the full collection.

Highlights of the Collection include:

  • Policy & Strategy Documents includes planning and  policy documents issued by key agencies, Executive branch documents, and Executive Orders.
  • Featured Topics contains collections of documents on 29 topics.
  • Research Tools features a selection of resources for homeland security research.
  • Critical Releases in Homeland Security comes out every two weeks, and features new, high-value documents.

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Best Databases for Criminal Justice

Use these databases to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

Legal Databases

News Databases

Others

New Database

Search Terms

Here are some search terms to consider:

  • Agroterrorism
  • Bioterrorism
  • Border security
  • Civilian-based defense
  • Cyberterrorism
  • Emergency preparedness
  • Immigration enforcement
  • Information gathering/sharing
  • Insurgency
  • National security
  • State sponsored terrorism
  • Terrorist plots
  • USA PATRIOT Act