MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The United States Judiciary: Articles

Looking for Articles

Use research databases to search for articles. Most databases allow you to limit to scholarly or peer reviewed articles. Some databases will return full text articles, and abstracts or summaries of articles.

Get Article

Use the GET ARTICLE link to see if an article is available in another database. Most databases allow you to limit to full text. If an article is unavailable through Monmouth University Library it may be requested through 

Interlibrary Loan

Subscription databases are available to Monmouth University students, faculty and staff. For remote log in, use your university username and password.

Journal Locator

Already have a citation?

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Need help? Check out the Journal Locator Tutorial.

Databases for Law & Legislation

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Best Databases for General Information

Start with these multi-subject databases.  They access a variety of sources, including newspapers, scholarly, and popular articles on a broad range of topics.

What is a scholarly article?

Scholarly (or peer-reviewed) articles report on new research. They are published in discipline-specific academic journals in order to make such information available to other scholars and academics. Here are some characteristics.

  • A scholarly journal accepts only articles that have been reviewed by a panel of experts in the field.
  • Authors are usually experts or scholars in their field. The author's credentials and affiliations are usually listed.
  • The language of scholarly journals is that of the discipline covered. It assumes subject matter knowledge on the part of the reader.
  • Scholarly articles always cite information sources using footnotes, endnotes, and/or bibliographies.
  • Scholarly articles are often quite long, and can include charts, graphs, and collected data.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Background

For background information or basics facts, try these alternatives to Wikipedia.