MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CO 503: Foundations in Communication: Articles

Communication Databases

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Multi-Subject Databases

Evaluating Resources

 

                Popular

                Trade

                Scholarly

·  Colorful covers

·   Glossy paper

·  Ads

·  Articles on current

    events

·  General interest

·  Short articles

·  Written by general staff

·  Reviewed by general

    editor

·  No bibliographies

    or footnotes

·  Usually called magazine

·  Glossy

·  Ads

·  Articles on industry

trends

·  Short articles

·  Written for members

of specific industry

·  Written by staff or

    experts in the field

·  Short or no

    bibliographies

 

·  Plain cover, plain paper

·  No ads

·  Primary research, theories, methodologies

·  Lengthy, in-depth articles

·  Written for researchers &

    professionals

·  Written by experts in the

    field & researchers

·  Peer review by subject

    experts

·  Extensive bibliographies &

    references

 

 

 

iPoll Databank Database

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar searches the internet for scholarly articles and often provides an abstract. Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to the full text. If Monmouth doesn't have access, use Interlibrary Loan to request an article.