LibGuides: Physician Assistant Program: EBP Resources

Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers. This link searches on the EBSCO platform.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
Clinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration, etc. - journal articles.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Provides full text for more than 600 of the 3,000 current nursing and allied health journals and other medical publications indexed in CINAHL. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Cochrane Library
A collection of several evidenced-based health care databases. Note: Full text can only be accessed by one user at a time. If you have trouble accessing full text, please try again later.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence. Includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Also includes tools for personal use.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions.

The above Hierarchy of Evidence Pyramid is by Bradley A. Long [author] and Eliza Donne [graphic designer]. It is shared under a Creative Commons License, Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International.