LibGuides: HS 102: Robespierre & The French Revolution: Find Articles

Introduction

Databases, listed on the right, will lead you to peer-reviewed journals appropriate for academic research. Please note that articles published in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by experts and rigorously vetted before publication. Non-peer reviewed journals (also known as popular sources), such as the ones found on magazine racks of large booksellers or published on Google, are not peer-reviewed.

Google Scholar

Journal Locator

Use to check the Library's holdings for the journal you want. It is possible that the article you want is not available in a database, but is available in print. Print holdings of journals can be found on the Library's lower level. These are shelved alphabetically according to title.

Spotlighted Journal

Biography
For thirty years, Biography has been an important forum for well-considered biographical scholarship. It features stimulating articles that explore the theoretical, generic, historical, and cultural dimensions of life-writing; and the integration of literature, history, the arts, and the social sciences as they relate to biography.

Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of many scholarly journals in history, political science and literature. 1993+
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
The largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1759 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
New York Times Historical: 1851-2019 This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page digital reproductions of every page (images and articles) from every issue, cover to cover, from the New York Times in downloadable PDF files.
NexisUni (LexisNexis)
Comprehensive source for current news (international, national and regional), legal research (cases and statutes, law reviews, news), business research (news, company information), medical information (news, journal articles, Medline abstracts) and basic reference tools.
IMPORTANT UPDATE
As of July 1, 2024 Nexis Uni will no longer be available.
- For company dossiers and company information, use Hoover's Company Profiles in Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest), Reference USA, or Westlaw's Company Investigator,
- For Business news use Wall Street Journal or ABI/INFORM Complete,
- For legislation information use CQ Congress Collection,
- For political news use New York Times, or US Newsstream (ProQuest),
- For US publications and government documents use HeinOnline or Westlaw,
- For legal research and court cases use Westlaw, GovInfo, HeinOnline or Google Scholar,
- For university news use The Chronicle of Higher Education,
- For law reviews and law journals use Westlaw, HeinOnline, or ProQuest Central.

You can also use multisubject databases:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database recommended for finding scholarly articles in most disciplines. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles on various subjects. 1971+