LibGuides: Chinua Achebe: Periodicals (Print & Online)

Introduction

Photo by Ukabia

Databases, listed on the right, will lead you to peer-reviewed journals, specific to research on course-relevant topics. Please note that articles published in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by experts and rigorously vetted before publication. Popular magazines, such as the ones found on magazine racks of large booksellers or published on Google, are not peer-reviewed.

Access to peer-reviewed materials is possible only through academic affiliation, i.e.,undergraduates, graduates, and faculty.

ProQuest and Academic Search Complete provide access to non-scholarly sources, such as newspaper and magazine articles.

Databases

Databases

Journal Locator allows you to search for an individual journal to see the library's holdings in all databases and print collections. You can access it via the Get Article link or you can use the link here to check the library's holdings for a journal.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window General database recommended for finding scholarly articles in most disciplines. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Duke University Press Journals Online This link opens in a new window Provides online access to the full text of 33 humanities and social science journals. Access goes back as far as 2000 in most cases; view the page for online availability for date ranges of specific journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Ten individual Gale series comprise Literature Criticism Online, representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works, across all regions, eras and genres: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Poetry Criticism. (coverage 2008-2016)
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database that provides a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high school libraries. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Most complete and authoritative database for literary research.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text database of many scholarly journals in history, political science and literature. 1993+
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Scholarly and popular articles on various subjects. 1971+

Why Can't I Just Google?

Just goes to show that US students are not the only ones who sometimes want to Google their way through academic research! Also see "Just Google It: How Search Engines Stunt College Students' Research Skills."

Courtesy of Sandi Monaghan, Library Officer, Communications and Online Learning Library on behalf of La Trobe University Library

Popular vs Scholarly Sources

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Google Scholar Search

Spotlighted Scholarly Journal

Postcolonial Studies

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find something you need? The interlibrary loan service can obtain the books or articles you are looking for.