LibGuides: Monmouth University Authors: 2013

Julius O. Adekunle and Hettie V. Williams

Converging Identities by Julius O. Adekunle (Editor); Hettie V. Williams (Editor)
ISBN: 9781611631371
Converging Identities is a volume of sixteen essays analyzing the issues of blackness and identity of the African Diaspora in global perspective, but focusing on the United States, the Caribbean, and Latin America. Given the historical factors that prompted Africans to populate different parts of the world, the subject of blackness as a form of identity becomes relevant. In modern times, blackness and identity are popular subject matters in view of the historic election of Barack Obama as the President of the United States of America in 2008. Converging Identities provides a stimulating and enlightening perspective to blackness and identity of the African Diaspora.

Kenneth L. Campbell

Ireland's History by Kenneth L. Campbell
ISBN: 9781441115768
Ireland's History provides an introduction to Irish history that blends a scholarly approach to the subject, based on recent research and current historiographical perspectives, with a clear and accessible writing style. All the major themes in Irish history are covered, from prehistoric times right through to present day, from the emergence of Celtic Christianity after the fall of the Roman Empire, to Ireland and the European Union, secularism and rapprochement with the United Kingdom. By avoiding adopting a purely nationalistic perspective, Kenneth Campbell offers a balanced approach, covering not only social and economic history, but also political, cultural, and religious history, and exploring the interconnections among these various approaches. This text will encourage students to think critically about the past and to examine how a study of Irish history might inform and influence their understanding of history in general.

Rachael Goldman

Color-Terms in Social and Cultural Context in Ancient Rome by Rachael B. Goldman
ISBN: 9781611439144
Publication Date: 07/15/2013
Romans attached nuanced implications to color-terms which went beyond their literal meaning, using these terms as a form of cultural assessment, defining their social values and order. By analyzing the use and color words in specific contexts, we can gain greater insight into the Roman mind.

Walter D. Greason

Suburban Erasure by Walter David Greason
ISBN: 9781611475708
For generations, historians believed that the study of the African American experience centered on the questions about the processes and consequences of enslavement. Even after this phase passed, the modern Civil Rights Movement took center stage and filled hundreds of pages, creating a new framework for understanding both the history of the United States and of the world. Suburban Erasure by Walter David Greason contributes to the most recent developments in historical writing by recovering dozens of previously undiscovered works about the African American experience in New Jersey.

Roy L. Nersesian

Energy Risk Modeling by Roy L. Nersesian
Energy Risk Modeling is a new, ground-breaking reference for those looking for simulation, decision trees, and optimization techniques for energy applications. The book is loaded with real-life examples that demonstrate how @RISK, PrecisionTree, and Evolver can be used to make better financial decisions within the oil and gas, electricity, and renewable energy industries.

Eleanor Novek

Working for Justice by Stephen John Hartnett, Eleanor Novek, Jennifer K. Wood, Editors
ISBN: 9780252079221
This collection documents the efforts of the Prison Communication, Activism, Research, and Education collective (PCARE) to put democracy into practice by merging prison education and activism. Through life-changing programs in a dozen states (Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin), PCARE works with prisoners, in prisons, and in communities to reclaim justice from the prison-industrial complex. Based on years of pragmatic activism and engaged teaching, the materials in this volume present a sweeping inventory of how communities and individuals both within and outside of prisons are marshaling the arts, education, and activism to reduce crime and enhance citizenship.

Mohammad S. Obaidat

SIGMAP and WINSYS 2013 - Proceedings of the 10th International Conference on Signal Processing and Multimedia Applications and 10th International Conference on Wireless Information Networks and Systems, Reykjavík, Iceland, 29-31 July, 2013 by Cabello, E., M. Virvou, M. S. Obaidat, H. Ji, P. Nicopolitidis, D. D. Vergados, Eds.
ISBN: 9789898565747
DCNET, ICE-B and OPTICS 2013 - Proceedings of the 4th International Conference on Data Communication Networking, 10th International Conference on e-Business and 4th International Conference on Optical Communication Systems, Reykjavík, Iceland, 29 - 31 Ju by Mohammad S. Obaidat, José Luis Sevillano, Zhaoyang Zhang, David A. Marca, Marten van Sinderen, Panagiotis G. Sarigiannidis, Piero Castoldi, Victor Torres-Padrosa (Eds.
SIMULTECH 2013 - Proceedings of the 3rd International Conference on Simulation and Modeling Methodologies, Technologies and Applications, Reykjavík, Iceland, 29-31 July, 2013 by Tuncer Ören, Janusz Kacprzyk, Leifur Þ. Leifsson, Mohammad S. Obaidat, Slawomir Koziel (Eds.):
Simulation and Modeling Methodologies, Technologies and Applications by Nuno Pina (Editor); Janusz Kacprzyk (Editor); Joaquim Filipe (Editor)
ISBN: 9783642343353

Michael A. Paladino

Introduction to Biotechnology by William J. Thieman; Michael A. Palladino
ISBN: 9780321766113
Thoroughly updated for currency and with exciting new practical examples throughout, this popular text provides the tools, practice, and basic knowledge for success in the biotech workforce. With its balanced coverage of basic cell and molecular biology, fundamental techniques, historical accounts, new advances and hands-on applications, the Third Edition emphasizes the future of biotechnology and your role in that future. Two new features--Forecasting the Future, and Making a Difference--along with several returning hallmark features support the new focus.
Essentials of Genetics by William S. Klug; Michael R. Cummings; Charlotte A. Spencer; Michael A. Palladino
ISBN: 9780321803115
Known for its focus on conceptual understanding, problem solving, and practical explanations, this best-seller strengthens problem solving coverage and explores the essential genetics content today's students need to know. This edition maintains the book's briefer, less-detailed approach to teaching core concepts. New features of the Eighth Edition include four new Special Topics chapters and thorough updates.

Steven Pressman

Fifty Major Economists by Steven Pressman
ISBN: 9780415134811
This book is an ideal reference tool providing biographical data on the economists who have shaped the discipline and description and analysis of their economic thought. It includes balanced coverage of all the major traditions.

Julia Riordan-Goncalves

Dictatorships in the Hispanic World by Swier/Riordan-Goncal
ISBN: 9781611475890
This book broaches a comparative and interdisciplinary approach in its exploration of the phenomenon of the dictatorship in the Hispanic World in the twentieth century. Some of the themes explored through a transatlantic perspective include testimonial accounts of violence and resistance in prisons; hunger and repression; exile, silence and intertextuality; bildungsroman and the modification of gender roles; and the role of trauma and memory within the genres of the novel, autobiography, testimonial literature, the essay, documentaries, puppet theater, poetry, and visual art. By looking at the similarities and differences of dictatorships represented in the diverse landscapes of Latin America and Spain, we hope to provide a more panoramic view of the dictatorship that moves beyond historiographical accounts of oppression and engages actively in a more broad dialectics of resistance and a politics of memory.

Alan Schwerin

Hume's Labyrinth by Alan Schwerin
ISBN: 9781443847421
Five years in the making, Hume's Labyrinth: A Search for the Self explores in detail both Hume's views on the self and his critical reservations on an account of the self that would subsequently become highly influential in the philosophy of mind. Central to Hume's Labyrinth is the suggestion that a careful analysis of the appendix to the Treatise throws an invaluable light on a number of elements fundamental to Hume's views on the self, not least of which is the role of Berkeley's views on language.

Richard Veit

Historical Archaeology of the Delaware Valley, 1600-1850 by Richard Veit (Editor); David Orr (Editor)
ISBN: 9781572339972
The Delaware Valley is a distinct region situated within the Middle Atlantic states, encompassing portions of Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Maryland. This work, thoroughly based on careful archaeological examination, tells the stories of earlier generations in the Delaware Valley and makes the case that New England and the Chesapeake are not the only cultural centers of colonial America.

Biology

Pedram P. Daneshgar

Daneshgar, P. P., H.W. Polley, and B.J. Wilsey. 2013. Simple plant traits explain functional group diversity decline in novel grassland communities of Texas. Plant Ecology 214(2): 231-241. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s11258-012-0162-x

Michael Palladino

Klug, W. S., M. R. Cummings, C. A Spencer, and Michael A. Palladino. 2013. Essentials of genetics. Boston: Pearson.

Thieman, W. J. and M. A. Palladino. 2013. Introduction to biotechnology 3rd ed. Boston: Pearson.

Dennis E. Rhoads

Pang, J. and D. E. Rhoads. 2013. Biochemical evidence for a putative inositol 1,3,4,5-tetrakisphosphate receptor in the olfactory system of Atlantic salmon (salmo salar). Neuroscience Journal 2013, Article ID 460481. http://dx.doi.org/10.1155/2013/46048

Pitchon, D. N., M. Zook, and D. E. Rhoads. 2013. A pattern of adolescent caffeine consumption that reduces alcohol withdrawal severity. Journal of Caffeine Research 3(3): 131-137.

Richard A. Stein

Stein, Richard A. 2013. Streptococcus infantarius and carcinogenesis: A new chapter in colorectal pathology. International Journal of Clinical Practice 67(12): 1220-1224.

Stein, Richard A. 2013. Switch and gain: Sequential moxifloxacin therapy. International Journal of Clinical Practice 67(9): 819-820.

Stein, Richard A. 2013. H7N9 influenza: Something old, something new... International Journal of Clinical Practice 67(10): 935-938.

Stein, Richard A. 2013. Invasive pneumococcal disease in children: Cross-disciplinary frameworks. International Journal of Clinical Practice 68(1): 2-3.

Stein, Richard A. 2013. Infectious diseases - role of super-spreaders. In Encyclopedia of School Health, eds. David C. Wiley and Amy C. Cory, 337-338. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications.

Stein, Richard A. 2013. Infectious diseases - school closures. In Encyclopedia of School Health, eds. David C. Wiley and Amy C. Cory, 338-341. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications.

Stein, Richard A. 2013. Infectious diseases - policies. In Encyclopedia of School Health, eds. David C. Wiley and Amy C. Cory, 323-325. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications.

Jonathan Ouellet

Ouellet, Jonathan, Sirinart Ananvoranich, and Jean-Pierre Perreault. 2013. "Structual Analysis of Ribozymes." Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry. https://doi.org/10.1002/9780470027318.a1427.pub2

Chemistry, Medical Technology, and Physics

Xudong Yuan

Yuan, X. and A.C. Capomacchia. 2013. Influence of physicochemical properties on the in vitro skin permeation of the enantiomers, racemate, and eutectics of ibuprofen for enhanced transdermal drug delivery. Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences 102(6): 1957-1969.

Tongesayi, T., P. Fedick, L. Lechner, C. Brock, A. Le Beau, C. Bray. 2013. Daily bioaccessible levels of selected essential but toxic heavy metals from the consumption of non-dietary food sources. Food and Chemical Toxicology 62: 142-147.

Communication

Eleanor Novek

Hartnett, Stephen J., Eleanor Novek, and Jennifer K. Wood, eds. 2013. Working for justice: A handbook of prison education and activism. Urbana: University of Illinois Press.

Novek, Eleanor. 2013. People like us: A new ethic of prison advocacy in racialized America. In Working for justice: A handbook of prison education and activism, eds. Stephen J. Hartnett, Eleanor Novek, and Jennifer K. Wood, 203-220. Urbana: University of Illinois Press.

Michael Phillips-Anderson

Phillips-Anderson, Michael. 2013. Sojourner Truth, Address at the women's rights convention in Akron, Ohio, 29 May 1851. Voices of Democracy 7(1): 21-46.

Deanna Shoemaker

Shoemaker, Deanne. 2013. Autoethnographic journeys: Performing possibilities/utopias/futures. In Handbook of autoethnography, eds. Stacy L. Holman Jones, Tony E. Adams, and Carolyn Ellis, 517-537. Walnut Creek CA: Left Coast Press.

Computer Science and Software Engineering

Allen E. Milewski

Landrigan, L. C., J. P. Wade, A. E. Milewski, and B. Reagor. 2013. Lessons from the past: Inaccurate credibility assessments made during crisis situations. Proceedings of the IEEE international conference on Technologies for Homeland Security.

Egan, R. W., J. Fjermestad, M. Tremain, S. R. Hiltz, A. E. Milewski, S. Zhang, and L. L. Watrous-deVersterre. 2013. Developing a gap analysis instruments to measure perception differences in globally dispersed software teams: A narrative. Proceedings of the 39th annual meeting of the Decision Sciences Institute, Baltimore, MD (November 2008).

Milewski, A. E., C. Serce, and K. Swigger. 2013. Quantitative and qualitative analysis of globally distributed team collaboration in design and development of software. Proceeding of the 6th international conference on Human Systems Interaction (HSI 2013), Sopot, Poland (June).

Lee, D., A. E. Milewski, and D. Rosca. 2013. A dependency-sharing tool for global software engineering. Human Computer Interaction - International,
Las Vegas, NV (July).

Mohammad S. Obaidat

Obaidat, M.S., J. Filipe, J. Kacprzyk, and N. Pina, eds. 2013. Simulation and modeling methodologies, technologies and applications. Springer.

Obaidat, M.S., J.L. Sevillano, Z. Zhang, D.A. Marca, M. van Sinderen, P.G. Sarigiannidis, P. Castoldi, and V. Torres- Padrosa, eds. 2013. DCNET, ICE-B and OPTICS 2013 - Proceedings of the 4th international conference on data communication networking, 10th international conference on e-business and 4th international conference on optical communication systems, Reykjavik, Iceland. SciTePress.

Cabello, E., M. Virvou, M.S. Obaidat, H. Ji, P. Nicopolitidis, D.D. Vergados, eds. 2013. SIGMAP and WINSYS 2013 - Proceedings of the 10th international conference on signal processing and multimedia applications and 10th international conference on wireless information networks and systems, Reykjavík, Iceland. SciTePress.

Obaidat, M.S., T. Oren, J. Kacprzyk, L. Leifsson, and S. Koziel, eds. 2013. SIMULTECH 2013 - Proceedings of the 3rd international conference on simulation and modeling methodologies, technologies and applications, Reykjavík, Iceland. SciTePress.

Guelzim, T. and M. S. Obaidat. 2013. Green computing and communication architecture. In Handbook of green information and communication systems, eds. M.S. Obaidat, A. Alagan, and I. Woungang, 209-227. Elsevier.

Gupta, M., M.S. Obaidat and S. Dhurandher. 2013. Energy-efficient wireless sensor networks. In Handbook on green information and communication systems, eds. M.S. Obaidat, A. Alagan, and I. Woungang, 353-369. Elsevier.

Woungang, I., S.K. Dhurandher, and M.S. Obaidat. 2013. Using ant colony for designing energy-efficient protocols for wireless ad hoc and sensor networks. In Handbook on green information and communication systems, eds. M.S. Obaidat, A. Alagan, and I. Woungang, 611-629. Elsevier.

Misra, S., V. Saritha, P. Venkata Krishna, and M.S. Obaidat. 2013. Learning automata as an utility for power management in smart grids. IEEE Communications 51(January): 98-104.

Sayed, B., I. Traore, I. Woungang, and M.S. Obaidat. 2013. Biometric authentication using mouse gesture dynamics. IEEE Systems Journal 7(2): 262-274.

Saha, B.K., S. Misra, and M.S. Obaidat. 2013. A web-based integrated environment for simulation and analysis with NS-2. IEEE Wireless Communications 20(4): 109–115.

Obaidat, M.S., D. Cascado Caballero, J. Sevillano, and J. Filipe. 2013. Guest editorial. Journal of Networks Academy 8(1): 1-3.

Dhurandher, S., M.S. Obaidat, and M. Gupta. 2013. Energized geocasting model for underwater wireless sensor networks. Simulation Modeling Practice and Theory Journal 7: 125-138.

Barthwal, R., S. Misra and M.S. Obaidat. 2013. Finding overlapping communities in a complex network of social linkage and internet of things. Journal of Supercomputing, Springer 66(3): 1749-1772.

Kim, J., Y. Mu, and M. S. Obaidat. 2013. Advanced computer mathematics-based cryptography and security technologies. International Journal of Computer Mathematics 90(12): 2512-2514.

Obaidat, M., M. Ali, and M. S. Obaidat. 2013. QoS-aware multipath communications over MANETs. Journal of Networks 8(1): 26-36.

Wu, G., X. Chen, and M. S. Obaidat. 2013. A high efficient node capture attack algorithm in wireless sensor network based on route minimum key set. Security and Communication Networks 6(2): 230-238.

Gupta, S. Dhurandher, I. Woungang, A. Kumar, and M. S. Obaidat. 2013. Trust-based security protocol against blackhole attacks in opportunistic networks. Proceedings of IEEE international conference on wireless and mobile computing, networking and communications, Lyon, France (October): 724-729. WiMob.

Gangil, A., S.K. Dhurandher, M.S. Obaidat, V. Singh, and S. Bhatia. 2013. MOCLO: A cloud framework for mobile devices. Proceedings of the IEEE international conference on internet of things, Beijing (August): 632-637. iThings.

Misra, S. and M. S. Obaidat. 2013. Residential energy management in smart grid: A Markov decision process-based approach. Proceedings of the IEEE international conference on internet of things, Bejing (August): 1152-1157. iThings.

Houda, M., F. Zarai, M.S. Obaidat, and L. Kamoun. 2013. Dynamic inter-cells and inter-technologies load balancing in LTE-advanced network based on MIH protocol with congestion control consideration. Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE international conference on green computing and communications. GreenCom.

Othmen, S., A. Belghith, M.S. Obaidat, and F. Zarai. 2013. Re-authentication protocol from WLAN to LTE (ReP WLAN-LTE). Proceedings of the IEEE Globcom 2013- Communications QoS, reliability and modeling symposium, (December). CQRM.

Das, B., S. Misra, U. Roy, and M.S. Obaidat. 2013. Dynamic relay selection for MAC-level retransmission in vehicular ad hoc networks. Proceedings of IEEE GlobCom 2013- Wireless networking symposium (December).

Samoui, S., F. Zarai, M.S. Obaidat, K.F. Hsiao, and L. Kamoun. 2013. HIP_IKEv2: A proposal to improve internet key exchange protocol-based on host identity protocol. Proceedings of the 2013 international conference on simulation and modeling methodologies, technologies and applications, Reykjavik, Iceland (July): 404-411. SIMULTECH.

Mansouri, W., K. Mnif, F. Zarai, M.S. Obaidat, and L. Kamoun. 2013. Capacity analysis of heterogeneous wireless networks under SINR interference constraints. Proceedings of the 2013 international conference on wireless information networks and systems, Reykjavik, Iceland (July): 233-239. WINSYS 2013-Part of ICETE 2013.

Mansouri, W., F. Zarai, M.S. Obaidat and L. Kamoun. 2013. End-to-end delay distribution in wireless heterogeneous networks. Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE ICC 2013 - Communication software and services symposium, Budapest (June): 1562-1566. CSS.

Woungang, I., M.S. Obaidat, S. Dhurandher, A. Ferworn, and W. Shah. 2013. An ant-swarm inspired energy-efficient ad hoc on-demand routing protocol for mobile ad hoc networks. Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE ICC 2013 - Next-generation networking symposium, Budapest (June): 2238-2242.

Misra, S., P. Krishna, H. Agarwal, A. Vasilakos V. Saritha and M.S. Obaidat. 2013. A fault-tolerant routing protocol for dynamic autonomous unmanned vehicular networks. Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE ICC 2013 - Next-generation networking symposium, Budapest (June): 2118-2122.

Omheni, N., F. Zarai, M.S. Obaidat, K.F. Hsiao, and L. Kamoun. 2013. Enhanced handover architecture in IEEE 802.21-enabled heterogeneous wireless networks. Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE international conference on computer, information and telecommunication systems, Athens (May). CITS.

El Bouabidil, I., F. Zarai, M.S. Obaidat, and Lotfi Kamoun. 2013. Secure and integrated handover authentication scheme with FMIPv6. Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE international conference on computer, information and telecommunication systems, Athens (May). CITS.

Carvalho, G.H.S., I. Woungang, A. Anpalagan, M.S. Obaidat, S. and M. Rahman. 2013. A joint call admission control-based approach for initial RAT selection in HetNets. Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE international conference on computer, information and telecommunication systems, Athens (May). CITS.

Woungang, I., M.S. Obaidat, S. Dhurandher, and V. Koo. 2013. A timed and secured monitoring implementation against collaborative wormhole attacks in mobile ad hoc networks. Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE international conference on computer, information and telecommunication systems, Athens (May). CITS.

Krishna, P., S. Misra, D. Joshi, and M.S. Obaidat. 2013. Learning automata based sentiment analysis for recommender system on cloud. Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE international conference on computer, information and telecommunication systems, Athens (May). CITS.

Ali, K., F. Zarai, M.S. Obaidat, and L. Kamoun. 2013. QoS scheme based IEEE 802.21 MIH in heterogeneous wireless networks. Proceedings of the 2013 international conference on information technology, Amman, Jordan (May): 231-239. ICIT.

Criminal Justice

Curriculum and Instruction

Dorothy Varygiannes

Varygiannes, Dorothy. 2013. The impact of open-ended tasks. Teaching Children Mathematics 20(5): 277-280.

Economics, Finance and Real Estate

Patrick O'Halloran

Skiba, Michaeline and Patrick O'Halloran. 2013. "It's (not) the economy, stupid:" Wasted opportunities. Management Research Review 36(6): 562-579.

O'Halloran, Patrick L. 2013. Union coverage, membership and performance-related pay: Are piece rates different?" National Institute Economic Review 226 (November): R30-R41.

Steven Pressman

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Fifty major economists. London: Routledge.

Scott, Robert H. and Steven Pressman. 2013. Debt-poor kids. Journal of Poverty 17(3): 356-373.

Scott, Robert and Steven Pressman. 2013. Household debt and income distribution. Journal of Economic Issues 47(2): 323-33.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Cross-national comparisons of poverty and income inequality. In The economics of inequality, poverty, and discrimination in the 21st century, ed. Robert S. Rycroft, 17-37. Santa Barbara: Praeger.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Justice and history: The big problem of Wilt Chamberlain. Economic Issues 18(1): 1-16.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. The review of political economy at 25: Past, present and future. Review of Political Economy 25(4): 533-543.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Review of What then must we do?, by Gar Alperovitz. Dollars and Sense 309.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. The health of nations. Review of To live and die in America: Class, power, health and healthcare, by Robert Chernomas and Ian Hudson. Dollars and Sense 308: 30-31.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. A bitter pill to swallow. Review of Bad pharma, by Ben Goldacre. Dollars and Sense 307: 23.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Ignore-rents is not bliss. Review of The price of inequality: How today's divided society endangers our future, by Joseph Stiglitz. Dollars & Sense 305: 25.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. The poverty of anti-poverty policy. Review of So rich, so poor, by Peter Edelman. Dollars and Sense 304: 28.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Review of The rich don't always win, by Sam Pizzigati. Choice 50(9): 1680.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Review of The physiocrats and the world of the enlightenment, by Liana Vardi. EH.Net (June).

Pressman, Steven. 2013. The bright sides of a dark economy. Newark Star Ledger, November 24, 2013.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Federal government must offer a helping hand. Asbury Park Press, October 13, 2013.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Attend college now, pay later: It can work in New Jersey? Bergen Record, October 10, 2013.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Yellen's best choice to lead the Federal Reserve. Camden Courier-Post, September 13, 2013.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. It's time to find ways to help the middle class. Home News Tribune, August 7, 2013.

Pressman, Steven and Roberty Scott. 2013. Let's really honor American mothers with paid time off from work. Newark Star Ledger, May 10, 2013.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Good politics, bad economics. Asbury Park Press, April 27, 2013.

Pressman, Steven. 2013. Unchain debate on social security benefits. Trenton Times, March 5, 2013.

English

Mary Kate Azcuy

Azcuy, Mary Kate. 2013. Louise Glück's irenic poems, "Crater Lake" and "Averno." In Can literature and the arts be irenic?, ed. Jennifer Kilgore-Caradec. AWP Review: The Arts of War and Peace 1(2): November.

Azcuy, Mary Kate. 2013. Vampirism, Catholicism, and Colonialism in Gabriel GarcÍa Márquez' Of Love and Other Demons. Hispanet Literary Journal 6.

Kristin Bluemel

Bluemel, Kristin. 2013. Exemplary intermodernists: Stevie Smith, Inez Holden, Betty Miller, and Naomi Mitchison. In Palgrave history of British women's writing, 1920-1945, ed. Mary Joannou, series eds. Cora Kaplan and Jennie Bachelor, 40-56. London: Palgrave Macmillan.

Margaret DelGuercio

DelGuerico, Margaret. 2013. "Coventry." "Slippage." Ship of Fools 68: 22; 28.

DelGuerico, Margaret. 2013. "Shut the Front Door." Creosote 12(1): 26-31.

DelGuerico, Margaret. 2013. "Cow Tipping." The Southern Carolina Review 46(1): 168-169.

DelGuerico, Margaret. 2013. "Bessie." Ship of Fools 69: 27.

Mihaela Moscaliuc

Moscaliuc, Mihaela. 2013. Translations from the Romanian of seven poems by Liliana Ursu. Modern poetry in translation 2: 69-76.

Moscaliuc, Mihaela. 2013. Translations of Liliana Ursu's "Healing," "The tower of welders," and "The street of measuring scales." Salamander 37: 25-28.

Moscaliuc, Mihaela. 2013. "Beets" and "From radioactive songs" (poems). 5 AM (May): 11-13.

Moscaliuc, Mihaela. 2013. "Apples" (poem). Prairie Schooner 87(4): 31-33.

Lisa M. Vetere

Vetere, Lisa. M. 2013. The rage of Willow: Malefic witchcraft fantasy in Buffy the Vampire Slayer. In Buffy conquers the academy: Conference papers from the 2009/2010 Popular Culture/American Culture Associations, eds. U. Melissa Anyiwo and Karoline Szatek-Tudor, 76-88. Newcastle upon Tyne: Cambridge Scholars Publishing.

Foreign Language Studies

Julia Riordan-Goncalves

Swier, Patricia and Julia Riordan-Goncalves. 2013. Dictatorships in the Hispanic world: Transatlantic and transnational perspectives. Lanham, MD: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press.

History and Anthropology

Julius Adekunle

Williams, Hettie. V. and Julius Adekunle, eds. 2013. Converging identities: Blackness in the contemporary African diaspora. Durham, NC: Carolina Academic Press.

Kenneth L. Campbell

Campbell, Kenneth L. 2013. Ireland's history: Prehistory to the present. London: Bloomsbury Academic.

Edward Gonzalez-Tennant

Gonzalez-Tennant, Edward. 2013. New heritage and dark tourism: A mixed methods approach to social justice in Rosewood, Florida. Heritage and Society 6(1): 62-88.

Walter Greason

Greason, Walter. 2013. Suburban erasure: How the suburbs ended the Civil Rights Movement in New Jersey. Madison, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press.

Brian Greenberg

Greenberg, Brian. 2013. Labor unions to focus on cementing partnerships. Asbury Park Press, September 22, 2013.

Greenberg, Brian. 2013. Volatile alliances: Middle-class reformers and working-class activists in nineteenth-century Boston. Review of Uneasy allies: Working for labor reform in nineteenth-century Boston, by D. A. Zonderman. Reviews in American History 41(2): 271-276.

Greenberg, Brian. 2013. Review of Condensed capitalism: Campbell soup and the pursuit of cheap production in the twentieth century, by David A. Sidorick. Enterprise and Society 14(2): 412-414.

Greenberg, Brian. 2013. Review of Clarence Darrow: American iconoclast, by Andrew E. Kersten. H-SHGAPE. http://www.h-net.org/reviews/home.php.

Adam R. Heinrich

Heinrich, Adam R. 2013. Cherubs or putti? Gravemarkers demonstrating conspicuous consumption and the rococo fashion in the eighteenth century. International Journal of Historical Archaeology (December): 10.1007/s10761-013-0246-x.

Katherine Parkin

Parkin, Katherine. 2013. Review of Creating consumers: Home economists in twentieth-century America, by Carolyn M. Goldstein. American Historical Review 118(4): 1200-1201.

Parkin, Katherine. 2013. Review of A mess of greens: Southern gender and southern food, by Elizabeth Engelhardt. Journal of American History 99(2): 604-605.

Maryanne Rhett

Rhett, Maryanne. 2013. Leagues, evil doers, and tales of survival: Graphic novels and the world history classroom. In Graphic novels and comics in the classroom: Essays on the educational power of sequential art, eds. C. K. Syma and R. G. Weiner, 111-119. Jefferson, NC: McFarland.

Rhett, Maryanne. 2013. The mask or the veil: Unraveling the cultural discourse in France and popular culture. The Middle Ground Journal, 7(Fall).

Hettie V. Williams

Williams, Hettie V. and Julius Adekunle, eds. 2013. Converging identities: Blackness in the contemporary African diaspora. Durham, NC: Carolina Academic Press.

Williams, Hettie V. 2013. Race riots. In Multicultural America, eds. Carlos E. Cortes and J. Geoffrey Golson. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications.

Williams, Hettie V. 2013. Black like who? The identity of an American president. In Converging identities: Blackness in the modern African diaspora, eds. Julius Adekunle and Hettie V. Williams, 115-141. Durham, NC: Carolina Academic Press.

Melissa Ziobro

Ziobro, Melissa. 2013. Review of Kimberly's flight: The story of Captain Kimberly Hampton, America's first woman combat pilot killed in battle, by Anna Simon and Ann Hampton. On Point: The Journal of Army History 18(4).

Ziobro, Melissa. 2013. Review of American militarism and anti-militarism in popular media, by Lisa M. Mundey. On Point: The Journal of Army History 19(1).

Ziobro, Melissa. 2013. Personnel evaluation. In Encyclopedia of Military Science, ed. G. Kurt Piehler. (August): 1079-1081.

Ziobro, Melissa. 2013. Separation and discharge. In Encyclopedia of Military Science, ed. G. Kurt Piehler. (August): 480-482.

Richard Veit

Veit, Richard. 2014. Historical archaeology of the Delaware Valley, 1600-1850. Knoxville, TN: University of Tennessee Press.

Gall, Michael and Richard Veit. 2014. "He will be a bourgeois American and spend his fortune in making gardens" An archaeological examination of Joseph Bonaparte's Point Breeze estate. In Historical archaeology of the Delaware Valley, 1600-1850, eds. Richard Veit and David Orr, 297-322. Knoxville, TN: University of Tennessee Press.

Baugher, Sherene and Richard Veit. 2013. John Zuricher, stone cutter, and his imprint on the religious landscape of colonial New York. In Tales of Gotham, historical archaeology, ethnohistory and microhistory of New York City, eds. Meta Janowitz and Diane Dalla, 225-248. New York: Springer.

Library

Eleonora Dubicki

Dubicki, Eleonora. 2013. Faculty perceptions of students' information literacy skills. Journal of Information Literacy 7(2): 97-125.

Management and Decision Sciences

Roy Nersesian

Nersesian, Roy L. 2013. Energy risk modeling. Ithaca, NY: Palisade Corp.

Stuart Rosenberg

Rosenberg, S., J. Brichkin, and S. Bernstein. 2013. Strategy and economics in the United States and Israel: A millennial perspective. Journal of Business & Economic Studies 19(1): 103-120.

Rosenberg, S., S.F. Gupta, and M. Madziva. 2013. The Macheke Sustainability Project. The CASE Journal 9(2): 47-57.

Rosenberg, S. and M. Skiba. 2013. Elimination of telecommuting in the workplace: A step backward for corporate America? Conference proceedings of the 2013 Northeast Business & Economics Association, 209.

Rosenberg, S. 2013. Malkinson Printing Company: The evolution of a family business. Conference Proceedings of the 2013 North American Case Research Association, 60.

Charles Willow

Willow, Charles. 2013. Data dimension reduction through linearly separable patterns using neural networks. Journal of Industrial and Intelligent Information 1(1): 31-36.

Marketing and International Business

David P. Paul, III

Coustasse, A. and D.P. Paul, III. 2013. Adoption of the ICD-10 standard in the United States: The time is now. Health Care Manager 32(3): 260-267.

Paul, D. P., III. 2013. The impact of New Jersey physicians' perceptions of medical malpractice insurance on access to and delivery of medical care in the state: Results of a statewide survey. Journal of Management Policy and Practice 14(2): 37-48.

Skiba, M. and D.P. Paul, III. 2013. Has gender equity improved? An examination of the challenges faced by professional women in law and healthcare. International Journal of Social Ecology and Sustainable Development 4(3): 87-95.

Paul, D. P., III. 2013. Hospitals at home: Impact of technology. In Advances in marketing, proceedings of the Association of Collegiate Marketing Educators, ed. M. Natarajarathinam, 125-136.

Paul, D. P., III, J. Preast, Z. Garrett, and A. Coustasse. 2013. Importance of new technologies for diabetes management. In Proceedings of the Business and Health Administration Association, ed. Z. Frank, 229-240.

Paul, D. P., III. 2013. Technology: Driving dentistry for the 21st century. In Proceeding of the Business and Health Administration Association, ed. Z. Frank, 219-228.

Paul, D. P., III. 2013. Hospitals at home: What are they and how well do they work? In Proceedings of the Business and Health Administration Association, ed. Z. Frank, 144-151.

Johns, H., C. Havens, D. Robinson, B.S. Pothakamuri., D.P. Paul, III, and A. Coustasse. 2013. ICD-10 in the United States: Better late than never. In Proceedings of the Business and Health Administration Association, ed. Z. Frank, 134-143.

Yaeger, S., D.P. Paul, III, and M. Skiba. 2013. The diabetes pandemic: The promise of combining multiple treatment and prevention modalities. In Proceeding of the Business and Health Administration Association, ed. Z. Frank, 75-80.

Hyson, R. and D.P. Paul, III. 2013. An examination of risk factors for obese adults: Prevention as policy. In Proceeding of the Business and Health Administration Association, ed. Z. Frank, 65-74.

Paul, D. P., III. 2013. An innovation in healthcare delivery: Hospital at home. Journal of Management Policy and Practice 14(6).

Michaeline Skiba

Skiba, Michaeline and Patrick O'Halloran. 2013. "It's (not) the economy, stupid:" Wasted opportunites. Management Research Review 36(6): 562-579.

Skiba, M., and D.P. Paul, III. 2013. Has gender equity improved? An examination of the challenges faced by professional women in law and healthcare. International Journal of Social Ecology and Sustainable Development 4(3): 87-95.

Rosenberg, S. and M. Skiba. 2013. Elimination of telecommuting in the workplace: A step backward for corporate America? Conference proceedings of the 2013 Northeast Business and Economics Association, 209.

Mathematics

B. Lynn Bodner

Bodner, B. Lynn. 2013. The planar crystallographic groups represented at the Alhambra. In Bridges: Mathematical connections in art, music and science conference proceedings, ed. R. Sarhangi. (July): 225-232.

Susan H. Marshall

Marshall, Susan H. and Alexander R. Perlis. 2013. Heronian tetrahedra are lattice tetrahedra. American Mathematical Monthly 120(2): 140-149.

Marshall, Susan H. and Donald R. Smith. 2013. Feedback, control, and the distribution of prime numbers. Mathematics Magazine 8(3):189-203.

Music and Theatre Arts

Jonathan McElroy

McElroy, Jonathan. 2013. The Easy Tax Guide for Photographers & Videographers. New Jersey.

McElroy, Jonathan. 2013. The Easy Tax Guide for Dancers. New Jersey.

McElroy, Jonathan. 2013. The Easy Tax Guide for Actors and Actresses. New Jersey.

McElroy, Jonathan. 2013. The Easy Tax Guide for Musicians. New Jersey.

Nursing and Health Studies

Tresa Kaur Dusaj

Dusaj, T. K. 2013. Pump up your PowerPoint® presentations. American Nurse Today 8(7): 43-46.

Laura Jannone

Jannone, L., ed. 2013. Applying conceptual models & theories in the administration of school nurse practice. In School Nurse Administrators: Leadership and Management, C. C. Constante, 31-56. Silver Springs, MD: National Association of School Nurses (NASN).

Political Science and Sociology

Nancy J. Mezey

Mezey, Nancy J. 2013. How lesbians and gay men decide to become parents or remain childfree. In LGBT-parent families: Innovations in research and implications for practice, eds. Abbie Goldberg and Katherine R. Allen, 59-70. New York: Springer.

Philosophy, Religion, and Interdisciplinary Studies

Alan Schwerin

Schwerin, Alan. 2013. Hume's labyrinth: A search for the self. Newcastle upon Tyne: Cambridge Scholars Publishing.

Schwerin, Alan. 2013. Russell on Hume's account of self. Russell: The Journal of Bertrand Russell 33(2): 31-47.

Psychological Counseling

George M Kapalka

Kapalka, G. M. and C. Peters.* 2013. Separation anxiety disorder. In Anxiety disorders: a guide for integrating psychopharmacology and psychotherapy, eds. S. M. Stahl and B. A. Moore, 260-284. New York, NY: Routledge.

*MU Student

Social Work

Lou Storey

Storey, Lou . 2013. Health for all: The lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender older adult project. American Journal of Public Health. e-view ahead of print. doi: 10.2105/AJPH.2013.301621.

Psychology

Natalie Ciarocco

Ciarocco, N., G. W. Lewandowski, and M. Van Volkom. 2013. The impact of a multifaceted approach to teaching methods on students' efficacy, utility, and attitudes towards research. Teaching of Psychology 40(1): 20-25.

Robyn Holmes

Holmes, Robyn and Lynn Romeo. 2013. Gender, play, language and creativity in preschoolers. Early Child Development and Care 183(11): 1531-1543.

Holmes, Robyn, Sharon Liden, and Lisa Shin. 2013. Children's thinking styles, play, and academic performance. American Journal of Play 52(2): 219-238.

Holmes, Robyn. 2013. Children's play and culture. Scholarpedia 8(6). doi:10.4249/scholarpedia.31016

Holmes, Robyn, Sharon Liden, and Lisa Shin. 2013. Adolescent perceptions of social media in a Pacific Rim community. Child Studies in Diverse Contexts 3(2): 81-103.

Gary Lewandowski

Aron, A., G. W. Lewandowski, Jr., D. Mashek, and E. N. Aron. 2013. The self-expansion model of motivation and cognition in close relationships. In The Oxford handbook of close relationships, eds. J. A. Simpson and L. Campbell, 90-115. New York: Oxford University Press.

Lewandowski, G. W. Jr. and A. Aron. 2013. Attraction. In The encyclopedia of the mind, ed. F. Pashler. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.

Mattingly, B. A. and G. W. Lewandowski. 2013. An expanded self is a more capable self: The association between self-concept size and self-efficacy. Self & Identity 12(6): 621-634.

Mattingly, B. A. and G. W. Lewandowski. 2013. The power of one: Benefits of individual self-expansion. Journal of Positive Psychology 8(1): 12-22.

Lewandowski, G. W. 2013. Women act like men when they switch seats at speed dating. LiveScience (November).

Lewandowski, G. W. Jr. 2013. Nudity found to offer new social benefits. Scientific American (December).

Lewandowski, G. W. Jr. 2013. What physiological changes can explain the honeymoon phase of a relationship? Scientific American Mind (September).

Speech Pathology, Educational Counseling and Leadership

Tina R. Paone

Malott, K. M., T. R. Paone, S. Schaefle, and J. Cates. 2013. Examining white racial identity: An exploratory study. In Images of whiteness: Proceedings from Inter-Disciplinary.Net's 2nd global conference on whiteness, eds. C. Behar and A. Chung, 181-192. Oxford: Inter-Disciplinary Press.

Paone, T. R. and K. M. Malott. 2013. Whiteness instruction in an experiential group course. In Images of whiteness: Proceedings from Inter-Disciplinary.Net's 2nd global conference on whiteness, eds. C. Behar and A. Chung, 193-206. Oxford: Inter-Disciplinary Press.

Malott, K. M. and T. R. Paone. 2013. Mexican-origin adolescents: Exploration of a group experience. Journal of Creativity in Mental Health 8: 204-218.

Paone, T. R. 2013. Group activity therapy. In Clinical activities in child therapy: Creative applications in therapeutic practice, ed. Jeff Chang.