MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 101: College Composition 1: Find Articles

Search All Library Resources at Once: HawkFind

           Advanced Search


  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Looking for Articles

Use research databases to search for articles. Most databases allow you to limit to scholarly or peer reviewed articles. Some databases will return full text articles, and abstracts or summaries of articles.

Use the GET ARTICLE or LINK TO FULL TEXT link to see if an article is available in another database. If an article is unavailable through Monmouth University Library it may be requested through 
Interlibrary Loan

Subscription databases are available to Monmouth University students, faculty and staff. For remote log in, use your university username and password.

View the entire list of MU databases here:
A to Z List of Databases

Databases by Subject

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Need help? Check out the Journal Locator Tutorial.

Why Can't I Just Google?

Just goes to show that US students are not the only ones who sometimes want to Google their way through academic research!  Also see "Just Google It: How Search Engines Stunt College Students' Research Skills."

Courtesy of Sandi Monaghan, Library Officer, Communications and Online Learning Library on behalf of La Trobe University Library

Google Search

Google Web Search

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Start with the following Monmouth University subscription databases to find journal articles. Remote access is available using your student ID and password.

Searching Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific. eg. substance abuse AND domestic violence

Use synonyms and alternative terms Related terms - broader or narrower - will also bring up relevant results. eg. teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

Restrict searches to academic, peer-reviewed journals

Types of Magazines and Journals

 

Popular Magazines

Trade Journals

Scholarly Journals

Audience

All readers

Professionals working in a specific field. Example: Nurses

Scholars and Students

Appearance

Glossy paper, many ads and pictures

Glossy paper, short articles, many ads and pictures

Research articles with charts and graphics, few pictures

Author

Freelance writers or journalists hired by magazine

Members of the profession

Professors, scholars or teachers in the field

Purpose

Entertain and inform

Keep professionals up to date with trends in the field

Publish new research in the field

References

Very few citations

Very few citations

References are listed at the end of each article

Authority

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles undergo peer-review by scholars within the same field

Frequency

Published weekly or monthly

Published weekly or monthly

Published a few times a year, quarterly

Examples

Time, People

Advertising Age, Education Week

Higher Education Research & Development

 

 

Pew Research

The Pew Internet Project regularly reports on the impact of the internet. Topics covered include: broadband; wireless connectivity; cell phones; video games; blogging; online banking; online dating; and social networking.

Recent reports

Educause

EDUCAUSE® is a nonprofit association and the foremost community of IT leaders and professionals committed to advancing higher education.

Recent reports

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Subject Databases

Scholarly vs. Popular