LibGuides: HE 360: Transcultural Health: Articles

Suggested Databases for Transcultural Health

For information on topics required for your assignments, you will need to consult our Research Databases for scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles. Below are some suggestions for health and nursing databases:

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 600 of the 3,000 current nursing and allied health journals and other medical publications indexed in CINAHL. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Clinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration, etc. - journal articles.
Alt-HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Click on the "Full Text @ MU Library" to check for full text access.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, fitness, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Suggested Journals

HawkFind

eHRAF World Cultures Database

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF is a cross-cultural databases that contains information of all aspects of cultural and social life. BROWSE Cultures by country (US). Review cultural summaries which include information on history, kinship, marriage, religion, and health.

Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online contains video and film for the study of human culture and behavior.

Types of Magazines and Journals

	Popular Magazines	Trade Journals	Scholarly Journals
Audience	All readers	Professionals working in a specific field. Example: Nurses	Scholars and Students
Appearance	Glossy paper, many ads and pictures	Glossy paper, short articles, many ads and pictures	Research articles with charts and graphics, few pictures
Author	Freelance writers or journalists hired by magazine	Members of the profession	Professors, scholars or teachers in the field
Purpose	Entertain and inform	Keep professionals up to date with trends in the field	Publish new research in the field
References	Very few citations	Very few citations	References are listed at the end of each article
Authority	Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors	Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors	Articles undergo peer-review by scholars within the same field
Frequency	Published weekly or monthly	Published weekly or monthly	Published a few times a year, quarterly
Examples	Time, People	Advertising Age, Education Week	Higher Education Research & Development

HE 360: Transcultural Health

Need Help?

Get Help