LibGuides: Global Cultures: Articles

Searching Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific. eg. substance abuse AND domestic violence

Use synonyms and alternative terms Related terms - broader or narrower - will also bring up relevant results. eg. teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

Restrict searches to academic, peer-reviewed journals

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

HawkFind

Database Sources for Articles and Country Data

Start with the following Monmouth University subscription databases to find journal or newspaper articles. Remote access is available using your student ID and password.

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
CIAO contains theory and research in international affairs from 1991 onward, and includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Non-partisan reports on topics of national interest. Each article contains overview, chronology, pro/con, resources, and more. (1991-present)

Popular vs Trade vs Scholarly

Popular

Trade

Scholarly

· Colorful covers

· Glossy paper

· Ads

· Articles on current

events

· General interest

· Short articles

· Written by general staff

· Reviewed by general

editor

· No bibliographies

or footnotes

· Usually called magazine

· Glossy

· Ads

· Articles on industry

trends

· Short articles

· Written for members

of specific industry

· Written by staff or

experts in the field

· Short or no

bibliographies

· Plain cover, plain paper

· No ads

· Primary research, theories, methodologies

· Lengthy, in-depth articles

· Written for researchers &

professionals

· Written by experts in the

field & researchers

· Peer review by subject

experts

· Extensive bibliographies &

references

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF (Human Relations Area Files) Search Tips Guide

Videos

Business Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, How To features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment. Subjects covered include Globalization, Operations & Logistics, Management, Marketing, Finance, Strategy, Entrepreneurship, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, International Business, Negotiations, Ethics, Cross-cultural communication, Technology, and much more.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of film and video for the study of human culture and behavior.

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides.