MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health & Physical Education Department Research Guide: Articles

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides. 

Tutorial: CINAHL

Search Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific.
eg. "substance abuse" AND domestic violence

Use synonyms and alternative terms. Related terms, broader or narrower, will also bring up relevant results.
eg.
teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use "quotation marks" to search for phrases.
"substance abuse"

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. 
eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

You can limit search results in many databases to academic/peer-reviewed journals, by publication date, or full-text only.

Suggested Databases for Nursing & Health Studies

Popular Magazines vs Scholarly Journals

  Google Scholar

If you try searching Google Scholar below, you may find some scholarly full-text materials available for free.  You can also check to see if we have them for free via one of our research databases.  Go to Journal Locator and type in the journal title in which the article was published.  For help using Journal Locator, view our tutorial.

Google Scholar Search

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed

In most databases, you can use filters to limit search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in the same field prior to publication.

How do you know an article is scholarly?

  • Limit search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly
  • Authors' affiliations are noted
  • Research findings are presented with supporting charts and tables
  • Disciplinary terminology is used
  • Common sections include: abstract, intro/background, methodology, results/findings, discussion/implications, and conclusion
  • References are listed at the end of the article
  • Typically more than 5 or 10 pages