MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Nursing Department Research Guide: Nursing for the future

Nursing for the Future

This page is designed to support NU450 - Nursing for the future. While many of the databases that can be searched for articles for managers or leaders in the nursing profession are the same as the databases for nursing research, there are several journals that focus on the administrative aspects of the profession. You can browse issues of these journals for articles.

Nurse Leader

Journal of Nursing Management

Journal of Nursing Administration (print in MU library)

Search Tips

For articles on leadership for the future in the nursing profession, search the nursing databases below and use keywords such as:

leadership; management styles; nursing management; nursing role; role conflict; delegation of authority

You may also want to limit the search by type of facility: hospital, nursing home

Suggested Databases for Nursing & Health Studies

Types of Resources

 

                Popular

                Trade

                Scholarly

·  Colorful covers

·   Glossy paper

·  Ads

·  Articles on current

    events

·  General interest

·  Short articles

·  Written by general staff

·  Reviewed by general

    editor

·  No bibliographies

    or footnotes

·  Usually called magazine

·  Glossy

·  Ads

·  Articles on industry

trends

·  Short articles

·  Written for members

of specific industry

·  Written by staff or

    experts in the field

·  Short or no

    bibliographies

 

·  Plain cover, plain paper

·  No ads

·  Primary research, theories, methodologies

·  Lengthy, in-depth articles

·  Written for researchers &

    professionals

·  Written by experts in the

    field & researchers

·  Peer review by subject

    experts

·  Extensive bibliographies &

    references

 

 

 

  Google Scholar

If you try searching Google Scholar below, you may find some scholarly full-text materials available for free.  You can also check to see if we have them for free via one of our research databases.  Go to Journal Locator and type in the journal title in which the article was published.  For help using Journal Locator, view our tutorial.

Google Scholar Search