LibGuides: Social Practice: Discovering the Ecological Self: Images

Images from Art Books

Art and photography books are a great source for images. There is a scanner available at the Reference Desk. Remember to cite the book, as well as the image.

Finding Images in Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an electronic archive of journal articles. Journal articles often include relevant images. When using images from books or journals, be sure to properly cite the article or book.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains full text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
ARAS This link opens in a new window
The Archive consists of photographs and reproductions of works of art, ritual images, and artifacts that depict archetypal images as defined by Carl G. Jung. Images date from the Paleolithic period to the present, and Prehistoric, Ancient Near Eastern, Egyptian, Greco-Roman, Christian, and Indian traditions are most substantially represented. Photographs from the collections of Jung himself, Dr. Jolande Jacobi, Dr. Erich Neumann, and Dorothy Norman have been added since the Archive's arrival in the U.S. from Zurich. Additional photographs continue to be added.

Images on the Web

Observe copyright restrictions and properly cite all images downloaded from the web.

Google Image Advanced Search
Use Advanced Image Search to limit search by file size, type, color and more. "USAGE RIGHTS" allows you to restrict your search to images that are free to use.
Wikimedia Commons
Images can be copied, used or modified. Follow the terms specified by the author. License terms for each image is found on the description page.
flickr Commons
Images with no known copyright restrictions from participating institutions.
AICT
Free access and free use of images of art and architectural works in the public domain. Images are referenced to important art history texts.
Image Exchange: Online Resource for Teaching
Architecture images intended for educational use. Guidelines describe use and restrictions.
Library of Congress American Memory Project
Open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Public access to the digitized collections of the New York Public Library, including postcards, maps, photographs, manuscripts and more.
Web Gallery of Art
Emphasis on European art 11th - 19th centuries.
Princeton University Digital Library
Includes manuscripts, maps, posters, prints and so on from Princeton University collections.

Citing Images

Image citations typically include the following:

Artist
Title
Date of work
Museum or repository
Medium or materials
Dimensions

Images from the web should include the URL and date of access.

Images from books should include the book citation.

This website from the University of Cincinnati provides examples:

Citing Images

Citing ARTstor Images

Information about citing images retrieved from ARTstor can be found here:

http://help.artstor.org/wiki/index.php/Citing