MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cultures of Consumption: Articles

Here are some resources for getting started with your assignments for Cultures of Consumption: Communication, Identity, and Practices of Consumption.

HawkFind: Search All Library Resources

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Databases for Discipline-Specific Articles

Topics

Here are some suggested topics. Try searching with and without quotation marks.

  • sustainable consumption
  • ethical consumerism
  • symbolic consumerism
  • corporate social responsibility
  • consumer resistance
  • Diderot effect
  • culture jamming
  • rhetorical sabotage

Multisubject Databases

Looking for Articles

Use research databases to search for articles. Most databases allow you to limit to scholarly or peer reviewed articles. Some databases will return full text articles, and abstracts or summaries of articles.

Use the GET ARTICLE or LINK TO FULL TEXT link to see if an article is available in another database. If an article is unavailable through Monmouth University Library it may be requested through 
Interlibrary Loan

Subscription databases are available to Monmouth University students, faculty and staff. For remote log in, use your university username and password.

View the entire list of MU databases here:
A to Z List of Databases

Databases by Subject

Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online contains video and film for the study of human culture and behavior.

Credo Reference

Key Sociology Journals

The following peer reviewed journals can be searched or browsed online using the Journal Locator.

  • American Journal of Sociology
  • American Sociological Review
  • British Journal of Sociology
  • Comparative Sociology
  • Current Sociology
  • International Sociology
  • Journal of Social Issues
  • Sex Roles
  • Social Forces
  • Social Policy
  • Social Problems
  • Social Psychology Quarterly
  • Social Research
  • Society
  • Sociology Review
  • Sociology
  • Sociology of Education

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search