LibGuides: GO 103 Physical Geography: Find Articles

Wildlife

Yellowstone bison

Science This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1997 to present. Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains full text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Non-partisan reports on topics of national interest. Each article contains overview, chronology, pro/con, resources, and more. (1991-present)
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the worlds top political and societal publications. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and newswires.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text scientific, technical and medical articles from Elsevier Publishing.
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

	Popular Magazines	Trade Journals	Scholarly Journals
Audience	All readers	Professionals working in a specific field. Example: Nurses	Scholars and Students
Appearance	Glossy paper, many ads and pictures	Glossy paper, short articles, many ads and pictures	Research articles with charts and graphics, few pictures
Author	Freelance writers or journalists hired by magazine	Members of the profession	Professors, scholars or teachers in the field
Purpose	Entertain and inform	Keep professionals up to date with trends in the field	Publish new research in the field
References	Very few citations	Very few citations	References are listed at the end of each article
Authority	Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors	Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors	Articles undergo peer-review by scholars within the same field
Frequency	Published weekly or monthly	Published weekly or monthly	Published a few times a year, quarterly
Examples	Time, People	Advertising Age, Education Week	Higher Education Research & Development