It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HE/NU 370-50: Alternative/Complementary Health Topics (Professor Paskewich): Find Books
Alternative Medicine by Greenhaven Press Editors; Lynn Zott (Editor); David M. HaugenEach title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This title explores the effectiveness of alternative medicines such as homeopathic medicine, acupuncture, and chelation therapy, reasons for the popularity of alternative medicines, whether alternative and conventional medicine can work together, and gove; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model...not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th
Call Number: Reference R733 .A4587 2012
Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Lois Snyder (Editor)This is the first comprehensive, multidisciplinary book to focus on the ethical challenges of complementary and alternative medicine. It examines the ethical challenges that CAM raises for patients and their physicians, and for patient-physician relationships. The book is written by a multidisciplinary team of CAM ethics and policy analysts, researchers and thought-leaders who present a forward-looking exploration of their subject.
Concise Handbook of Psychoactive Herbs by Marcello SpinellaFind out how plant-derived drugs react with your brain to produce either healing or harmful results The Concise Handbook of Psychoactive Herbs will give you a better understanding of herbal products that have psychological effects. The book explores how they work, how effective they are, and what is known about their safety. Geared towards non-specialist professionals and curious individuals, this guide shows how herbal preparations can affect the brain, mental state, and behavior of a user and includes treatment methods, tables, illustrations, a glossary, and a bibliography.The Concise Handbook of Psychoactive Herbs contains chapters on several types of psychoactive herbs, including: stimulants cognition-enhancers sedatives painkillers hallucinogensWith the Concise Handbook of Psychoactive Herbs, you'll examine the effects of psychoactive drugs on the nervous system--both positive and negative. Each chapter discusses a type of herbal medicine, its action on the brain and other systems of the body, side effects, and the potential for addiction. The book closely examines possible drug interactions with prescription medications and emphasizes the caution you need to take when using herbal health products.In the Concise Handbook of Psychoactive Herbs you will learn about the psychoactive actions of such medicinal plants as: coffee tobacco cannabis ginseng chamomile cocoa opium poppy peyote gingko biloba
Call Number: Reference RM315 .S655 2005
Find Books at the MU Library
Searching with Subject Headings
Once you find a book on your topic, be sure to look at the book's subject heading. Clicking on this heading will take you to other books on your topic.
Healing Ways by Matilde ParenteWhen it comes to your health, it's important to know and understand all the options available to you. Should you stick with Western medicine alone? What are the benefits and dangers of alternative medicine? Can acupuncture, massage therapy, or meditation really help? In Healing Ways: An Integrative Health Sourcebook, you'll find important information about conventional and alternative therapies, and how they can work together to help you reap maximum benefits. This approach is called Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM), and it lets you combine the best of both worlds: mainstream medical therapies and alternative solutions that have high-quality scientific evidence for safety and effectiveness. In the pages of this guide, you will find: How traditional Western medicine can work with CAM Expectations, cautions, and myths Talking to your doctor about CAM How to be a better health consumer How to decide which CAM methods are right for you Integrated Approaches--from ancient to modern Mind-Body Approaches, including mediation, yoga, relaxation techniques and more Chiropractic, massage therapy, reflexology, and other body work Herbal Medicine and Supplements CAM Method Finder, and more Take charge of your life--and your health--with this new approach to treatment that grows in popularity every day.
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
The Anthropology of Alternative Medicine by Anamaria Iosif RossAlternative medicine is not a fashionable new trend but an established cultural strategy, as well as a dynamic feature of mainstream contemporary medicine, in which elements of folk traditions are often blended with western scientific approaches. The Anthropology of Alternative Medicine is a concise yet wide-ranging exploration of non-biomedical healing. The book explores a broad range of practices including- substance, energy and information flows (e.g. reiki); spirit, consciousness and trance (e.g. shamanism); body, movement and the senses (e.g. massage and aromatherapy); as well as classical medical traditions as complements or alternatives to Western biomedicine (e.g. ayurveda and homeopathy). Exploring the cultural underpinnings of contemporary healing methods, while assessing current ideas, topics and resources for further study, this book will be invaluable to undergraduate and graduate students in anthropology, sociology, psychology, and health related professions such as nursing, physical and occupational therapy, and biomedicine.
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Chinese Medicine and Healing by edited by TJ Hinrichs and Linda L. BarnesChinese Medicine and Healing is a comprehensive introduction to a rich array of Chinese healing practices as they have developed through time and across cultures. Contributions from fifty-eight leading international scholars in such fields as Chinese archaeology, history, anthropology, religion, and medicine make this a collaborative work of uncommon intellectual synergy, and a vital new resource for anyone working in East Asian or world history, in medical history and anthropology, and in biomedicine and complementary healing arts. This illustrated history explores the emergence and development of a wide range of health interventions, including propitiation of disease-inflicting spirits, divination, vitality-cultivating meditative disciplines, herbal remedies, pulse diagnosis, and acupuncture. The authors investigate processes that contribute to historical change, such as competition between different types of practitioner--shamans, Daoist priests, Buddhist monks, scholar physicians, and even government officials. Accompanying vignettes and illustrations bring to life such diverse arenas of health care as childbirth in the Tang period, Yuan state-established medical schools, fertility control in the Qing, and the search for sexual potency in the People's Republic. The two final chapters illustrate Chinese healing modalities across the globe and address the challenges they have posed as alternatives to biomedical standards of training and licensure. The discussion includes such far-reaching examples as Chinese treatments for diphtheria in colonial Australia and malaria in Africa, the invention of ear acupuncture by the French and its worldwide dissemination, and the varying applications of acupuncture from Germany to Argentina and Iraq.
Publication Date: 2013-01-07
Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Nicola K. Gale (Editor); Jean V. McHale (Editor)The provision and use of traditional, complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) has been growing globally over the last 40 years. As CAM develops alongside - and sometimes integrates with - conventional medicine, this handbook provides the first major overview of its regulation and professionalization from social science and legal perspectives. The Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine draws on historical and international comparative research to provide a rigorous and thematic examination of the field. It argues that many popular and policy debates are stuck in a polarized and largely asocial discourse, and that interdisciplinary social science perspectives, theorising diversity in the field, provide a much more robust evidence base for policy and practice in the field. Divided into four sections, the handbook covers: analytical frameworks power, professions and health spaces risk and regulation perspectives for the future. This important volume will interest social science and legal scholars researching complementary and alternative medicine, professional identify and health care regulation, as well as historians and health policymakers and regulators.