MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NU 521: Pathophysiology and Histology: Articles

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides. 

Topic Selection & Search Strategies

Selecting a topic is one of the most important steps of your research. Defining and refining your topic is an ongoing process. Be prepared to adjust the focus of your topic as you gather more information.

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed

In most databases, you can use filters to limit search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in the same field prior to publication.

How do you know an article is scholarly?

  • Limit search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly
  • Authors' affiliations are noted
  • Research findings are presented with supporting charts and tables
  • Disciplinary terminology is used
  • Common sections include: abstract, intro/background, methodology, results/findings, discussion/implications, and conclusion
  • References are listed at the end of the article
  • Typically more than 5 or 10 pages

Article Databases

To find case studies, you can limit results by publication or document type: "case study". You should also limit results to scholarly/peer-reviewed and the latest five years for the most current information.

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Journal Locator

Use Journal Locator to see if the Library has full text access to a journal or magazine, or to browse for articles in the title.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find something you need?  The interlibrary loan service  at MU Library can obtain the books or articles you are looking for.