LibGuides: NU 512: Nursing Research for Advanced Nursing Practice: Articles

Evidence Based Practice

Evidence-Based Practice requires that clinicians search the literature to find answers to their clinical questions.

The most common definition of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) is from Dr. David Sackett. EBP is "the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of the individual patient. It means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research." (Sackett. D, 1996)

Databases such as PubMed/MEDLINE and CINAHL will give you access to the primary literature.
Secondary Sources such as ACP Journal Club and Clinical Evidence provide assessments of the original study.
Cochrane Library provides systematic reviews which help summarize the results from a number of studies.

Article Databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 600 of the 3,000 current nursing and allied health journals and other medical publications indexed in CINAHL. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health - journal articles, books, videos, dissertations, etc.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers. This link searches on the EBSCO platform.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP This link opens in a new window
Includes Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of several evidenced-based health care databases. Note: Full text can only be accessed by one user at a time. If you have trouble accessing full text, please try again later.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions.

EBP Resources

ACP Journal Club
Website comprises a 10-year archive of the cumulative electronic contents of "ACP Journal Club". Content is selected from over 100 clinical journals.
Clinical Evidence
Clinical Evidence describes the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs, and observational studies when appropriate for assessing the benefits and harms of treatments.

NU 512: Nursing Research for Advanced Nursing Practice

Need Help?

Get Help

What is EBP?

Evidence Based Nursing Journal

Evidence Based Practice

Article Databases

EBP Resources