LibGuides: EDS 337: Special Education Strategies in P-6 Social Studies and Content Instruction: Find Articles and Statistics

The Literature Review

MU Research Guide: The Literature Review

Search All Library Resources at Once: HawkFind

Advanced Searching in HawkFind

Popular Research Journals

Teaching Exceptional Children

Journal of Special Education

Exceptional Children

Learning Disability Quarterly

Journal of Learning Disabilities

Remedial and Special Education

AERA Open

Journal of Special Education Technology (JSET)

Best Bet Databases

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from books, articles and documents from the Education Resources Information Center, funded by the U.S. Department of Education. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Text and images from leading journals in the field of education, covering the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education; also includes such areas as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Other Relevant Databases

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in sociology and related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social work, and socio-cultural anthropology. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Full-text Access

Many databases provide full-text access to journals. However, you can use the GET ARTICLE icon to search for full-text coverage of the title you need in one of the other databases. If no access is available, you can request and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the materials.

ILL Request Form

How to Track Down a Citation

What Works Clearinghouse (WWC)

The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education. WWC is intended to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions with a focus on the results from high-quality research to answer the question “What works in education?”

Sources for Statistical Information

New Jersey Data Book
The online publication of the New Jersey Legislative District Data Book. Produced by Rutgers Center for Government Services, the Data Book provides data on NJ municipalities, congressional and legislative districts, counties, schools, elections, and people.
** You will need to create a free account to access this resource**
NJOIT Open Data Center
NJ datasets covering many subjects
New Jersey School Performance Reports
The School Performance Reports reflect the NJDOE's extensive efforts to engage with parents, students, and school communities and share the information that is most valuable in providing a picture of overall school performance.
New Jersey State Data Center
The New Jersey State Data Center (NJSDC) is a cooperative project of the State of New Jersey and the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Serving data users in the public, private, and academic sectors.
NJ Department of Education Data & Reports
United States Census Bureau
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
NJ QuickFacts
US Census Bureau information specific to New Jersey
States Perform
States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education.

Contact the Library

Research Help: 732-571-3438
Circulation: 732-571-3693