Recommendations for books to be added to our collection are welcome. For information about the process, check out the form found here.
Growing Together As Allies (GTAA) is a group comprised of Monmouth University School of Social Work (MUSSW) faculty, students, administrators and alumni that are committed to antiracism/ racial equity work within the school and the greater Monmouth community. GTAA initially began in 2015 as an informal group who met monthly to reflect, learn, and share strategies of how to address racism, power and privilege in the classroom. The title of the group was selected to emphasize the nature of the work of being an ally across social identities of race, ethnicity, sexuality, gender, class, religion and ability.
Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published.
Thousands of African American interviews from a broad range of backgrounds and experiences. This resource provides high-quality video content, fully searchable transcripts, and unique content from individuals whose life stories would have been lost were it not for the HistoryMakers.
An award-winning black studies portfolio that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, full text collection of news articles from publications of the minority, ethnic, and native press. The database is searchable in both English and Spanish, covering 240 periodical titles in both languages.
More than 350 newspapers provide a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment and more
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles.
Covering 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres. These diverse periodicals—which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture—will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.