Research Seminar in Anthropology

This revised second edition serves not only as a self-instructional reference tool for logically and systematically accessing anthropological literature but also as a basic text for library instruction programs for undergraduate and graduate anthropology students.The first section outlines the historical development of the discipline, identifies the informational needs of anthropologists, and describes the structure and organization of libraries as sources of anthropological information. A variety of research strategies and methods for conducting library research are explored as well. The second section consists of nineteen chapters describing the various kinds of research tools available to the anthropologist. Included are descriptions of scope, arrangement, and content for hundreds of reference works, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, subject and regional bibliographies, guides to specialized libraries and archives, indexes and abstracts, Human Relations Area Files, and computerized databases. Electronic databases are identified throughout the volume, and a chapter is devoted to Internet resources.Appendixes summarize the Library of Congress classification scheme for anthropology, identify the major anthropology library collections in the United States and Canada, and describe the arrangement of Human Relations Area Files classification system.

The Royal Theatre has seen better days. But then so have the ghosts who live there. Newly arrived in her favourite seaside town and its beautiful theatre, Gracie is quickly making friends. But the old theatre is under threat. Will Gracie and her friends be able to save their home, or is the curtain set to fall on their very last performance?

Many anthropologists return to their original fieldwork sites a number of times during their careers, but this experience has seldom been subjected to analytic and theoretical scrutiny. The contributors to Returns to the Field have all undertaken multitemporal fieldwork?repeated visits to the same place?over periods ranging from 20 to 40 years among minority groups in Africa, Latin America, Asia, and Melanesia. Over the years of contact, these anthropologists have witnessed dramatic changes, but also the perseverance of the people they have worked with. In vivid and personal essays, the authors examine the ramifications of this type of fieldwork practice?the kind of knowledge it produces, what methodological tools are appropriate, and how relationships with people in the field site change over time.

What is Anthropology? Why should you study it? What will you learn? And what can you do with it? What Anthropologists Do answers all these questions. And more. Anthropology is an astonishingly diverse and engaged subject that seeks to understand human social behaviour. What Anthropologists Do presents a lively introduction to the ways in which anthropology's unique research methods and cutting-edge thinking contribute to a very wide range of fields- environmental issues, aid and development, advocacy, human rights, social policy, the creative arts, museums, health, education, crime, communications technology, design, marketing, and business. In short, a training in Anthropology provides highly transferable skills of investigation and analysis. The book will be ideal for any readers who want to know what Anthropology is all about and especially for students coming to the study of Anthropology for the first time.