MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLP 680: Research Methods: Databases/Articles

Databases/Articles

All Monmouth University students, faculty, and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access requires entry of username and password for verification. MU username is your student ID (e.g. s0123456). Search the Library's A-Z Database List for a specific database, Databases by Subject, or use links in research guides. 

Topics

Clinical Topics & Disorders in Speech-Language Pathology: American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Topic Selection & Search Strategies

Selecting a topic is one of the most important steps of your research. Defining and refining your topic is an ongoing process. Be prepared to adjust the focus of your topic as you gather more information.

Searching Tips

Identify keywords for your topic and search the databases with these terms:

e.g. "traumatic brain injury" and speech

Using "quotation marks" improves searching for a phrase.

You can also limit by age category e.g. adult

Research Databases

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Additional Research Databases

Evaluating Resources

 

                Popular

                Trade

                Scholarly

·  Colorful covers

·   Glossy paper

·  Ads

·  Articles on current

    events

·  General interest

·  Short articles

·  Written by general staff

·  Reviewed by general

    editor

·  No bibliographies

    or footnotes

·  Usually called magazine

·  Glossy

·  Ads

·  Articles on industry

trends

·  Short articles

·  Written for members

of specific industry

·  Written by staff or

    experts in the field

·  Short or no

    bibliographies

 

·  Plain cover, plain paper

·  No ads

·  Primary research, theories, methodologies

·  Lengthy, in-depth articles

·  Written for researchers &

    professionals

·  Written by experts in the

    field & researchers

·  Peer review by subject

    experts

·  Extensive bibliographies &

    references

 

 

 

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed

In most databases, you can use filters to limit search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in the same field prior to publication.

How do you know an article is scholarly?

  • Limit search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly
  • Authors' affiliations are noted
  • Research findings are presented with supporting charts and tables
  • Disciplinary terminology is used
  • Common sections include: abstract, intro/background, methodology, results/findings, discussion/implications, and conclusion
  • References are listed at the end of the article
  • Typically more than 5 or 10 pages

Journal Information