MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HE 324: Human Sexuality: Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Search Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific.
eg. "substance abuse" AND domestic violence

Use synonyms and alternative terms. Related terms, broader or narrower, will also bring up relevant results.
eg.
teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use "quotation marks" to search for phrases.
"substance abuse"

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. 
eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

You can limit search results in many databases to academic/peer-reviewed journals, by publication date, or full-text only.

Suggested Databases for HE324

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Evaluating Resources

 

                Popular

                Trade

                Scholarly

·  Colorful covers

·   Glossy paper

·  Ads

·  Articles on current

    events

·  General interest

·  Short articles

·  Written by general staff

·  Reviewed by general

    editor

·  No bibliographies

    or footnotes

·  Usually called magazine

·  Glossy

·  Ads

·  Articles on industry

trends

·  Short articles

·  Written for members

of specific industry

·  Written by staff or

    experts in the field

·  Short or no

    bibliographies

 

·  Plain cover, plain paper

·  No ads

·  Primary research, theories, methodologies

·  Lengthy, in-depth articles

·  Written for researchers &

    professionals

·  Written by experts in the

    field & researchers

·  Peer review by subject

    experts

·  Extensive bibliographies &

    references