MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Reference Assistant Program: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

The MU Library has more than 150 databases. All MU students and employees have access to subscription databases on campus. Remote access to databases requires entering your username and password for verification. You can access individual research databases from the Library website under Quick Links, A-Z Database List or using links in research guides. You can also use HawkFind which simultaneously searches across several of our major databases.

Google Scholar is also good source to glean citation information if a patron has partial information, such as article title.

Journal Locator

Use Journal Locator to see if the Library has full text access to a journal or magazine, or to browse for articles in the title.

Tutorial: CINAHL

Reading a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: NCSU Libraries

Learn about clues to look for in identifying a scholarly article.

HawkFind

  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Sample search

Search Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific.
eg. "substance abuse" AND domestic violence

Use synonyms and alternative terms. Related terms, broader or narrower, will also bring up relevant results.
eg.
teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use "quotation marks" to search for phrases.
"substance abuse"

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. 
eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

You can limit search results in many databases to academic/peer-reviewed journals, by publication date, or full-text only.

Types of Magazines & Journals

 

Popular Magazines

Trade Journals

Scholarly Journals

Audience

All readers

Professionals working in a specific field. Example: Nurses

Scholars and Students

Appearance

Glossy paper, many ads and pictures

Glossy paper, short articles, many ads and pictures

Research articles with charts and graphics, few pictures

Author

Freelance writers or journalists hired by magazine

Members of the profession

Professors, scholars or teachers in the field

Purpose

Entertain and inform

Keep professionals up to date with trends in the field

Publish new research in the field

References

Very few citations

Very few citations

References are listed at the end of each article

Authority

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles reviewed by magazine’s editors

Articles undergo peer-review by scholars within the same field

Frequency

Published weekly or monthly

Published weekly or monthly

Published a few times a year, quarterly

Examples

Time, People

Advertising Age, Education Week

Higher Education Research & Development