LibGuides: Business: Country

Culture

Understanding the culture of a country improves a company's ability to effectively conduct business in a country and sell goods to their consumers.

Check for books on your country in the Monmouth University Library online catalog.

Eurostat Regional Yearbook The publication gives an overview of the most recent economic, social and demographic developments in the European Union.
Interactive Statistical Atlas - Eurostat This tool contains maps of all regions in the EU as well as the possibility to display rivers, cities and roads. On these maps, the full range of statistical indicators included in the Regional Yearbook can be selected and displayed.

Monmouth University's subscription databases providing country information:

Business (9 ProQuest databases) Searching with this link provides results from 9 business databases from ProQuest, including ABI/Inform, Hoovers, Asian & European sources, and Industry snapshots.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window ( including Datamonitor industry profiles) Business journals.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window eHRAF is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

Free websites offering insights on countries.

BBC Country Profiles
CIA - World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Economist Country Profiles
globalEDGE Michigan State University site which provides a wide range of information on global business issues and excellent profiles for countries and industries.
International Etiquette Guides - Kwintessential
Topics include language, useful phrases, the society, culture, business and social etiquettes.
OECD Factbook Economic, environmental and social statistics.
U.S. Department of State
Country profiles.
UN Demographic Yearbook Worldwide demographic information from the United Nations.
World Databank
Extensive collections of time series data.