Theatre/Performance Studies: Theatre/ Theatre History

• Early Modern London Theatres
• The Internet Broadway Database
• Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database
• Global Performing Arts Database (GloPAD)

Critical Survey of Drama.

World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre

The Oxford Companion to the Theatre  

Literature and Theater of the States and Regions of the U.S.A.; An Historical Bibliography

Complete Book of American Musical Theater

Shakespeare on the Web

Open Source Shakespeare

A great place to digitally search within all of Shakespeare's works.


British Library’s Treasures in Full: Shakespeare in Quarto

A superb collection preserved in digital format.


Reference Books (Shakespeare)

The Monmouth University Library has over 70 reference books on Shakespeare, a few of which include:

The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students. Four Volumes.

Shakespearean Criticism: Excerpts from the Criticism of  William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, from the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations. 100 volumes.

The Folger Guide to Shakespeare. Louis Wright and Virginia  LaMar.

The Essential Shakespeare: An Annotated Bibliography of  Major Modern Studies.


Academic Journals (Shakespeare)

The following Shakespeare-related journals are available at the Research Database page of the MU Library:

Shakespeare Studies

Shakespeare Bulletin

Shakespeare Quarterly

Shakespeare Studies



E-Books (Shakespeare)

The Furness Shakespeare Library at the University of Pennsylvania

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare

Shakespeare’s Complete Works Online (University of Virginia)

• Perseus Digital Library
• Archive of Performances of Greek and Roman Drama
• Theatron  Requires additional plug-ins but features Virtual  Reality walk-through models of theatres past and present, including theatres of the ancient world
• Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Some links are broken, but still worth a look for Greek drama.